PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2007-11-11 01:19:22

Kartoshka
Pac-Man
From: israel
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 208

MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

Well. good news and other news.
it powers now from single c64 power wire, no additional separate LCD powering.
http://photos-075.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sctm/v154/62/110/696922075/n696922075_260511_8495.jpg
the cable you see behind is PL audio out.
you can watch the video on youtube
--------------------

AND
i've finished all the soldering of midi-DIY-V1.
http://photos-075.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v148/62/110/696922075/n696922075_260512_496.jpg

SO... it flashes twice when powered on;, but no further operation.
tried to swap pin 4/5 on midi_in connector. same result.

i'm trying to use it along my mc909 set as master, while jp8000 works flawlessly with same presets (just removing the midi-in from jp8000 and plugging in to c64.
i get NO SOUND! sound only when p64 selected as internal clock in Bassline sync pop window.
(i'm working with bassline exclusively now, to simplify the problems)

in test ports menu (before entering applications) -> IN/(OUT?) flashes constantly with about 4 secs intervals.
C and D are lit grey, 5V is X-ed.

my only fault which i can think of, is CONNECTING EVERYTHING labeled VCC to 5V, and all Grounds to 1-Ground-point.
Including C4 capacitor.



maybe everything is much more simple and even works, but i just don't understand how to sync them together?
help.. !!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by Kartoshka (2007-11-11 22:53:41)

Offline

 

#2 2007-11-12 11:55:27

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

You only need to plug VCC to Pin 2. No need for external 5 Volts.
If you start Midi-sync from your sequencer. Does the LED turn on?


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#3 2007-11-12 19:20:14

Kartoshka
Pac-Man
From: israel
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 208

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

vcc connected to 5v from userport as described in scheme (tested with multimeter, delivering true 5v)
vcc flashes the led twice when powered on, but nothing else further.
how do i start midi-sync from mc909? :-\

Offline

 

#4 2007-11-12 20:23:17

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

I don't know. Read the 909's manual. the 909 must act as Midi-Sync-Master.
When pressing start with the 909, the LED must light up.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#5 2007-11-12 23:55:25

Kartoshka
Pac-Man
From: israel
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 208

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/432/deleteky2.jpg

hmm. well, tried all possible setups.
mc909 functions as master with sync_out ON; when working with jp8000 synth it's perfectly syncronized, reacts to BPM tempo changes and/or pitch (with TTL emulation slider or pitch knobs), and plays notes from pre-selected 909's channel.

also checked connections meanwhile: they are ok, no loose contacts.
tried to test the sync out of jp8000.. but it desn't have midi clock, only sync_in, on/off.

i think mc909 sends too many signals with notes on different channels...but anyway the led is always off.

i want to understand something: (let's say it works) how do i begin playing sync'd sequence?
run/stop with external clock doesn't react.. (lit red).

what about ground? ... midi connector i've made according to schematics is only 2 active pins.

Last edited by Kartoshka (2007-11-13 01:01:01)

Offline

 

#6 2007-11-13 09:50:02

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

If it flashes 2 times, the power for the midi interface is ok.
C & D are turned off which looks like the wires are also connected correctly.
It is not possible to have 'too much' data from the 909. The Midi Interface can handle that.

One thing i could think of, since i am a old user of rolands mc series:
When pressing Start, it only sends a Midi-Start, when it is in the begin of the pattern. Else it sends only a Midi-Continue.
The Midi Interface reacts on Midi Start. And i am not sure if i also react on continue. Got to check the source for that. But it is also really uncommon to use continue, since P64 doesn't support it.

What can you try:
Press Stop, press << on your MC909 two times. And then press start and see if the led turns on. If not, try again to swap the two line from the midi connector, doing the same procedure.
If that doesn't work. Try to use your PC's Midi Interface, if you got one. There you can use midiOX to simulate Midi-Sync signals.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#7 2007-11-13 20:18:27

Kartoshka
Pac-Man
From: israel
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 208

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

YAWWWWWWWWWWWW it works!!! damn loose connections.

Video of P64 sync'd to my mc909 sequence on Youtube

thanks zillions Thomas.

Last edited by Kartoshka (2007-11-14 01:39:46)

Offline

 

#8 2007-11-22 12:41:51

R64
Pac-Man
From: Melbourne, Oz
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 222
Website

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

Nice work mate!

Offline

 

#9 2007-11-22 20:48:08

Tristan
Pac-Man
From: Brum, UK
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 247
Website

Re: MIDI DIY v1 (not the new one)

Direct input the audio next time! wink


YOU are reading my unique forum signature.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008