PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-20 13:24:45

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Midi Interface Questions

uneksija wrote:

Hi,

The MIDI-interface seems cool. There's one thing I gotta ask since I'm not sure about it: when playing the monosynth with a MIDI-keyboard, is it possible to activate the glide? I guess with the mod-wheel somehow? Does this also result in tie notes (envelope not retriggered)?

If it would be possible, the following would be a nice feature IMO: when ever a legato is played on the keyboard, that is, playing two notes so that previous note is released after next one is played (or in exactly the same time), the glide would be activated (also resulting in a tie tie). Some old synths work like this, such as Roland SH-101 (AFAIK). Some old synths such as the Minimoog result in a tie note when legato is played, and this is very expressive. A lot of classic C64 game tunes use a lot of tie notes.

Of course the MIDI-interface is limited to whatever the Prophet64 can do.

You can activate glide via the MOD-Wheel permanently or via the Pitch-Bend temporary.
Actually i don't want to put glide in, when playing a new note before releasing the old. But it might be a nice add on feature i am thinking of. Question is, how to activate/deactivate it. The Mod-Wheel is already used.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#2 2007-10-20 13:48:08

opkod
Rockford
From: le mans
Registered: 2007-09-26
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

just one question: I would add sync24 in and out permanently in my C64 and 4 pots. Should I install some switchs to switch off pots and sync24?

Offline

 

#3 2007-10-20 13:52:06

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

opkod wrote:

just one question: I would add sync24 in and out permanently in my C64 and 4 pots. Should I install some switchs to switch off pots and sync24?

If you want to use them with the Midi-Interface, then you really need switches for all sources.
If not, then this question is offtopic and more something for the S24-64/Pot Area.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#4 2007-10-20 15:24:31

pidgin
Gianas Sister
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-21
Posts: 21
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

My question (I emailed this too but I thought it would be better here)..... is it being shipped securely i.e. recorded delivery? As in the UK just now our postal system is in chaos and I *really* don't want this to "go missing".....

Offline

 

#5 2007-10-20 19:06:03

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

pidgin wrote:

My question (I emailed this too but I thought it would be better here)..... is it being shipped securely i.e. recorded delivery? As in the UK just now our postal system is in chaos and I *really* don't want this to "go missing".....

Standard shipping is without any tracking / recorded delivery. For that shipping will be more expensive. Please use the comment fields for that and to ask how much it'll be then.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#6 2007-10-20 21:28:48

opkod
Rockford
From: le mans
Registered: 2007-09-26
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

firestARTer wrote:

opkod wrote:

just one question: I would add sync24 in and out permanently in my C64 and 4 pots. Should I install some switchs to switch off pots and sync24?

If you want to use them with the Midi-Interface, then you really need switches for all sources.
If not, then this question is offtopic and more something for the S24-64/Pot Area.

ok, switch for everything.

Offline

 

#7 2007-10-20 21:52:23

pidgin
Gianas Sister
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-21
Posts: 21
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

firestARTer wrote:

Standard shipping is without any tracking / recorded delivery. For that shipping will be more expensive. Please use the comment fields for that and to ask how much it'll be then.

well I already paid so I can't do that (taras here), but I can send some more. i don't imagine it would be much, i've sent stuff recorded to europe before and it wasn't too much..  thanks!

Offline

 

#8 2007-10-21 00:07:05

uneksija
GI-Joe
Registered: 2006-09-20
Posts: 12

Re: Midi Interface Questions

firestARTer wrote:

You can activate glide via the MOD-Wheel permanently or via the Pitch-Bend temporary.
Actually i don't want to put glide in, when playing a new note before releasing the old. But it might be a nice add on feature i am thinking of. Question is, how to activate/deactivate it. The Mod-Wheel is already used.

It's possible to upgrade the firmware on the MIDI-interface, right? Maybe there could be an alternative firmware that works like I suggested? Then those who want it could use the alternative firmware.

Or maybe its activation could be assigned on some, uh, MIDI CC or something(*)? Unfortunately I don't know the workings of P64 or the MIDI-interface very clearly when it comes to their MIDI-implementation.

Here I am just requesting & requesting more features when I should say "finally MIDI for C64 - great work!!" smile

Anyways, please at least consider my idea. I'll buy the interface with 99% propability anyways, since it works exactly how I like anyways when it is sequenced. It's just that I'm also a keyboard player, and I dig the so-called "single-triggering" on some analog synths.

(*) Somehow that sentence feels like saying "have you checked the microchips?" to somebody who's repairing a computer smile

Offline

 

#9 2007-10-21 12:40:08

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

uneksija wrote:

firestARTer wrote:

You can activate glide via the MOD-Wheel permanently or via the Pitch-Bend temporary.
Actually i don't want to put glide in, when playing a new note before releasing the old. But it might be a nice add on feature i am thinking of. Question is, how to activate/deactivate it. The Mod-Wheel is already used.

It's possible to upgrade the firmware on the MIDI-interface, right? Maybe there could be an alternative firmware that works like I suggested? Then those who want it could use the alternative firmware.

Or maybe its activation could be assigned on some, uh, MIDI CC or something(*)? Unfortunately I don't know the workings of P64 or the MIDI-interface very clearly when it comes to their MIDI-implementation.

Here I am just requesting & requesting more features when I should say "finally MIDI for C64 - great work!!" smile

Anyways, please at least consider my idea. I'll buy the interface with 99% propability anyways, since it works exactly how I like anyways when it is sequenced. It's just that I'm also a keyboard player, and I dig the so-called "single-triggering" on some analog synths.

(*) Somehow that sentence feels like saying "have you checked the microchips?" to somebody who's repairing a computer smile

Yes, it is possible to upgrade the firmware. I will think about this and when i find some time i will implement it.
But just a hint: You shouldn't wait too long getting the interface, else it'll be only tech talking instead of using it! Availability is limited!


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#10 2007-10-22 17:18:39

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

No, cause P64 doesn't support it.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#11 2007-10-26 14:50:13

uneksija
GI-Joe
Registered: 2006-09-20
Posts: 12

Re: Midi Interface Questions

firestARTer wrote:

Yes, it is possible to upgrade the firmware. I will think about this and when i find some time i will implement it.
But just a hint: You shouldn't wait too long getting the interface, else it'll be only tech talking instead of using it! Availability is limited!

OK, sounds great, thanks! Maybe in the alternative firmware the mod-wheel would activate the single-triggering mode or something?

I've been busy so I missed the first patch of the interface. Also much to my horror I noticed that the Prophet64 itself has sold out. Luckily my friend sold his cartridge to me for 50 euros today (I wonder if this was the first deal ever on an used Prophet64 with an inflated price;). I'll definetely buy the MIDI-interface when it is available again.

Last edited by uneksija (2007-10-26 14:50:38)

Offline

 

#12 2007-10-26 15:53:29

opkod
Rockford
From: le mans
Registered: 2007-09-26
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

prophet 64 cartdrige is only sold out until the next batch?

Offline

 

#13 2007-10-26 17:54:25

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

What about a simple Program/Instrument change? That would be easy to implement and Program 2 is for cool glide live playing.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#14 2007-10-27 20:14:25

Pellucid
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 1

Re: Midi Interface Questions

hey,
im novice here,
i will buy c64 soon, and i want to know how much is midi interface?

Offline

 

#15 2007-10-28 00:10:39

pidgin
Gianas Sister
From: UK
Registered: 2007-06-21
Posts: 21
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

The first run was 85. You also need a Prophet64 cart (32) and a mouse (either a 1351 mouse if you don't have a MIDI interface, or a serial mouse if you do)...

Last edited by pidgin (2007-10-28 00:11:26)

Offline

 

#16 2007-10-28 11:39:03

fups
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 1

Re: Midi Interface Questions

So now my Midi Interface has arrived and after a little struggle it works at its best now. But now I have a few questions:
1. What for can the additional mouse be used and where to plug it to, as now that the midi-interface it connected to joy1+2 there is no place left.
2. Has anyone a solution how to midi-out with a sx-64? the power cord and the midi-out are quite the same place.

Thanx in advance and many thanx to the great firestarter.
btw how many midi-interfaces were produced in the first run or does this question damage your privacy?

Last edited by fups (2007-10-28 11:41:10)

Offline

 

#17 2007-10-28 19:33:28

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

fups wrote:

So now my Midi Interface has arrived and after a little struggle it works at its best now. But now I have a few questions:
1. What for can the additional mouse be used and where to plug it to, as now that the midi-interface it connected to joy1+2 there is no place left.
2. Has anyone a solution how to midi-out with a sx-64? the power cord and the midi-out are quite the same place.

Thanx in advance and many thanx to the great firestarter.
btw how many midi-interfaces were produced in the first run or does this question damage your privacy?

1st: Since the Mouse only works for the Sequencer but Pots are not at all usable in Prophet64 sequencer, just unplug the Joystick-Cable and plug your mouse in the joystickport.

2nd: Good Question. I will check on my SX tomorrow about that. As far as i remember, it was fine with mine.

...And yes, it damages my privacy smile


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#18 2007-11-01 01:41:01

uneksija
GI-Joe
Registered: 2006-09-20
Posts: 12

Re: Midi Interface Questions

firestARTer wrote:

What about a simple Program/Instrument change? That would be easy to implement and Program 2 is for cool glide live playing.

Sounds great!

Offline

 

#19 2007-11-03 17:40:52

jbuonacc
Centipede
From: Rochester, NY usa
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 447

Re: Midi Interface Questions

here's a question - reading through the guide about different Modes, is it not possible to have Sequencer record incoming MIDI notes in the Piano Roll page while being MIDI-sync'd to an external DAW/sequencer? looks like it'll either accept incoming MIDI notes or MIDI sync, but not both at the same time?

ie - i'd like to sync Sequencer to my DAW/etc and have it record incoming notes while perfectly sync'd. is this possible? does MIDI-sync still work while in Sequencer/Keyboard Mode #4. how about a combo of Modes 1 and 4?



EDIT/UPDATE: shit, i just realized this won't work at all. sad in Mode 4 it looks like the MIDI note-ons are converted to Sync-24 data which are then converted to note data when you switch to 'Sync24-C64 Keyboard' mode in Sequencer? so, no possible way to feed MIDI notes from a DAW, etc into Sequencer while they're sync'd via MIDI. damn, this was a big selling point thinking that it could do this. just a limitation of the software i guess. oh well, still a fantastic device, works great so far otherwise!

Last edited by jbuonacc (2007-11-04 16:47:29)

Offline

 

#20 2007-11-04 06:18:34

jbuonacc
Centipede
From: Rochester, NY usa
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 447

Re: Midi Interface Questions

here's another one - is it possible to create a mode where the interface sends Sync-24 clock through the OUT port *instead* of MIDI clock? sounds backwards, i know (why would you want Sync-24 instead?!), but it'd be easy to sync other C64's to it *without* needing another MIDI>Sync-24 converter interface (FirestARTer/D-tronics/etc). i'm covered on this end myself, but it might be a very useful feature for other users. MIDI>Sync-24 is expensive and hard to come by, sync cables are cheap and easy for everyone.

Offline

 

#21 2007-11-10 20:27:23

Cassu
GI-Joe
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 16
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

opkod wrote:

prophet 64 cartdrige is only sold out until the next batch?

This is something i would like to know also ... I was just about to order the cartdrige. But darn - its sold out! sad
When, oh when will it be in stock again?

edit:
Sorry for the wrong topic ... found this topic ...

Last edited by Cassu (2007-11-10 20:44:09)


- Cassu
---------------------------------------------------------
K.Larm & J.Raninen -project

Offline

 

#22 2007-11-12 11:41:13

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Midi Interface Questions

Thats not possible. Sync24 out would need another additional line which is not implemented in the interface.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008