PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#51 2006-12-31 02:44:04

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Akira wrote:

IF I could program more than 4 parameters to MIDI CCs at the same time, then I'd consider waiting.

It seems like Firestarter's interface will be capable to progam any amount of parameters with the only limitation of MOVING data simultaneously on only 4... So you can have a different CC for every knob but you will be able to move 4 at time. Like a sort of poliphony 8)

Last edited by KONEY (2007-01-09 18:05:42)

Offline

 

#52 2007-01-09 16:09:18

stamba
Mad Max
From: Bordeaux - FRANCE
Registered: 2007-01-09
Posts: 99
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Hi wink

Has anybody tried to order the midi interface these days from http://www.engineersatwork.nl/ ?

I'm having troubles on the paypal screen with the grid code.. sad

Any idea of the problem ?

I've tried to email but had a mailerdaemon.. so i used the contact us form on their website.. waiting for a reply..

Offline

 

#53 2007-01-09 18:30:18

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#54 2007-01-10 11:52:22

stamba
Mad Max
From: Bordeaux - FRANCE
Registered: 2007-01-09
Posts: 99
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

No more problems ! Everything went fine with Paypal..

Prophet64 and Midi interface ordered wink

Offline

 

#55 2007-01-13 18:31:10

scoutski
Bloody beginner
From: The Planet Funk
Registered: 2006-12-22
Posts: 7

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Akira wrote:

By the way, I couldnt  hear that example MP3. Can you upload it again?

Sure, here it is:
http://www.funxiun.com/mp3/prophet64-test1.mp3

Offline

 

#56 2007-01-17 14:43:09

stamba
Mad Max
From: Bordeaux - FRANCE
Registered: 2007-01-09
Posts: 99
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Nice example Scoutski !

I just can't wait !! Ordered p64+dtronics midi last week.. .... can't wait !!! smile

Offline

 

#57 2007-01-27 23:49:44

spihunter
Guest

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

I dont see it for sale at http://www.engineersatwork.nl/  anywhere?

Did it sell out already? I really want one!.

 

#58 2007-01-29 09:55:43

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Seems it's sold out.
Send Django an email, he's on this forum.

Last edited by AxiMaxi (2007-01-29 09:55:57)


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#59 2007-01-30 15:49:34

capsid
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-01-30
Posts: 2

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Hi all. 

The instructions mention that you can change P64 presets with Program Change messages.  Could someone explain this feature a bit more?  Does this only apply to instrument selection in the Sequencer?  What channel do you send the P.C. messages on?    Thanks a lot!

Offline

 

#60 2007-01-30 19:27:24

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

ahah, wow, i didn't even read the instructions.. i guess i should

Offline

 

#61 2007-01-31 05:55:24

CountBinoculars
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-01-31
Posts: 1

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

hello, im new.  Is there any chance that these will become available again in the near future?

Offline

 

#62 2007-01-31 14:44:04

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Translated from an email Djange sent me:

The program consists of 2 parts.
At boot, the sync-signals of the C64 are translated to the MIDI output (SYNC-to-MIDI).
This means, that if RUN becomes high, the interface will send out a MIDI-start command.
When RUN changes to low, it will send a MDI-stop.
When CLOCK (tempo) becomes high, a MIDI clock (0xF8) is sent.

As soon as there's an incoming MIDI signal, the program will switch to MIDI-to-SYNC translation.
Incoming MIDI-clock will generate a 4ms pulse to the USER-port.
MIDI-stop (0xFC) and MIDI-start (0xFA) will change RUN to low and high respectively.

Finally, there's Program Change, responding to MIDI channel 16 only.

The lowest 5 bits are the program number:

CF 04 is received ( C=programchange F=channel 16, 04 is program) which translates into 00100 on the output
CF 05 is received ( C=programchange F=channel 16, 05 is program) which translates into 00101 on the output
CF 1F is received ( C=programchange F=channel 16, 1F is program) which translates into 11111 on the output
CF 54 is received ( C=programchange F=channel 16, 04 is program) which translates into 10100 on the output

Hope this helps.


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#63 2007-02-01 18:28:21

capsid
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-01-30
Posts: 2

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Yes, that helps a lot, thanks!

Another question that I forgot to ask:
Does the Midi Out actually send all the data it receives in a Midi Thru fashion, or does it only send the timing singals?  My desire is to send Midi Out to P64, and daisy chain it to Midines (which only has Midi In so it has to be at the end of the chain).

Hmm, as an aside, I've wondered about splitting midi cables.  If you hack two plugs onto one end of a Midi cable, does it send the data out to both or do you need to have some kind of circuit to buffer/boost the signal?

Thanks a lot!

Offline

 

#64 2007-03-06 19:11:20

stamba
Mad Max
From: Bordeaux - FRANCE
Registered: 2007-01-09
Posts: 99
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Seems there no more informations about this midi interface on the http://www.dtronics.net website.. ?!

No more products to buy on the engineersatwork website too... ?!

Any informations Django ?

Offline

 

#65 2007-03-07 09:25:17

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

capsid wrote:

Does the Midi Out actually send all the data it receives in a Midi Thru fashion, or does it only send the timing singals?  My desire is to send Midi Out to P64, and daisy chain it to Midines (which only has Midi In so it has to be at the end of the chain).

Don't know, sorry.

capsid wrote:

Hmm, as an aside, I've wondered about splitting midi cables.  If you hack two plugs onto one end of a Midi cable, does it send the data out to both or do you need to have some kind of circuit to buffer/boost the signal?

I have never seen this done and there are splitter devices on the market.
So I guess splitting the cable is not an option.

Last edited by AxiMaxi (2007-03-07 09:26:07)


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#66 2007-03-08 21:08:59

dotmatrix
Monty
Registered: 2006-10-23
Posts: 87
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

you practically need an optocoupler followed by a schmitt trigger. that should do it.

Offline

 

#67 2007-03-16 19:15:42

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

I'm waiting with bated breath right now to hear the first "i'm making real progress" message from firestARTer

Offline

 

#68 2007-03-18 17:27:09

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

i'm making real progress


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#69 2007-03-19 20:48:17

NAS
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-03-11
Posts: 9

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

firestARTer wrote:

i'm making real progress

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah
Well you did challenge him Slorrin smile

Offline

 

#70 2007-03-19 21:53:52

commodork64
Nebulus
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 68

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Ok, let's try..... I'm waiting with bated breath right now to hear the first "i'm finished the interface please mail me for ordering info" message from firestARTer

wink

Offline

 

#71 2007-03-20 14:33:42

herr_prof
Space Invader
From: Joisey City, Nou Joisey
Registered: 2006-07-11
Posts: 136
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Slorrin wrote:

I'm waiting with bated breath right now to hear the first "i'm making real progress" message from firestARTer

Maybe you can throw some of that $10k his way to motivate some full time work wink

Offline

 

#72 2007-03-21 18:13:41

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

herr_prof wrote:

Slorrin wrote:

I'm waiting with bated breath right now to hear the first "i'm making real progress" message from firestARTer

Maybe you can throw some of that $10k his way to motivate some full time work wink

Ak, i spent it all on a new computer, a camera, and the last bit i'm considering spending on importing more SIDs from china, 6581s this time.. i

Offline

 

#73 2007-03-21 20:13:35

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: New midi interface for prophet64

Ah DAMN!!
So no full time work for me this time ;-)

Well, i move back to
http://www.prophet64-forum.com/viewtopic.php?id=78

..and maybe you can find some progress there later...


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008