PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

  • Index
  •  » SEQUENCER
  •  » 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

#1 2006-08-30 00:14:15

tony
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2006-08-29
Posts: 5

64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

Has anyone else had problems loading P64 sequencer files when running 64hdd ?
I can save my files onto the hard disk of my PC, but when i try to load them back in
i get the error message "NO FILES FOUND". I have my pentium 2 PC connected to my Commodore 64 with an XE1541 cable, and i can save and load C64 BASIC programs to my PC without any problems when the p64 cartridge is removed. I have read the 64hdd documentation over and over again but i just can`t see where i am going wrong.

Offline

 

#2 2006-08-30 09:59:39

basil faulty
Dan Dare
Registered: 2006-07-19
Posts: 73

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

Does 64HDD work normally?

I could never get 64HDD to work, which turned out to be because the parallel port in my PC was not bi-directional. I tried in in my kids (much older!) PIII 700mhz and it works perfectly.

I don't use 64HDD too much now, as the PC is not as accessible. I have modded my XE1541 cable to be a XM1541 cable, and I now use cbm4win to write disks back and forth using a 'real' 1541 (well, actually an Oceanic OC-118 drive).

Offline

 

#3 2006-08-30 17:56:57

Jaicen
Centipede
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 461

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

The problem you've probably got is that 64HDD is saving just a program to a directory. What I do is have 64HDD load up a disk image, and save the files to the disk image.

Offline

 

#4 2006-08-30 23:42:46

tony
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2006-08-29
Posts: 5

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

I have tried saving my project files from the P64 to disk image files on my celeron 433mhz
pc using the 64hdd emulator and an XE1541 cable and i can now load them back into the  P64.
This means I don`t need to use a 1541 disk drive to save my project files.
Thank you JAICEN  for your excellent  prompt advice.

Offline

 

#5 2006-08-31 00:03:14

Jaicen
Centipede
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 461

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

No problems, I aim to please wink

Offline

 

#6 2006-08-31 01:05:12

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

does 64hdd work do you think on a laptop running MS-DOS?

do you need the XA1541 to get it to work?

that or the SD 1541III will be better than what i do now, which is carry a 1571 around..

Offline

 

#7 2006-08-31 07:55:17

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

64HDD runs on any computer that has a proper parallel port.
You're laptop might be just fine, even with an XE1541 cable.

But it might NOT be fine too... can't say untill you tried. smile


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#8 2006-08-31 20:29:13

tony
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2006-08-29
Posts: 5

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

64hdd should work on most PC`s with a parallel port that can run MSDOS, and has a CPU speed of at least 33MHz. MSDOS 6 is best but 7 also works. You will need either a X1541 or an XE1541 cable but the XE1541 cable is more likely to work on `newer` machines. You can download 64HDD and the docs from www.64hdd.com . I found the docs to be very technical and difficult to follow. I think the more recent the pc the less chance there is of 64hdd working.

Last edited by tony (2006-08-31 20:42:03)

Offline

 

#9 2006-09-01 10:44:53

basil faulty
Dan Dare
Registered: 2006-07-19
Posts: 73

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

If you don't mind spending a few pounds/dollars/euros then I can recommend the self booting CD that is available. 64HDD runs best under MS-DOS, and doesn't seem to like running in a DOS session under XP. Either set up a cheap 2nd PC as a file server - running MS-DOS only - or use the self booting disc.

You also get a rather cool 64HDD Inside! sticker.

http://www.64hdd.com/64hdd/64hdd-cd.html

Offline

 

#10 2006-09-01 12:23:15

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

basil faulty wrote:

If you don't mind spending a few pounds/dollars/euros then I can recommend the self booting CD that is available. 64HDD runs best under MS-DOS, and doesn't seem to like running in a DOS session under XP. Either set up a cheap 2nd PC as a file server - running MS-DOS only - or use the self booting disc.
You also get a rather cool 64HDD Inside! sticker.

THe point is that setting up a PC just to transfer files is a complete mess. Everytime you have to transfer a file you have to put it into the second pc which takes lot of space and electric plugs AND costs money. Maybe a virtual machine is a solution, still you get most of cpu busy just to transfer a few kbs. If I have to spend money then I prefer to buy a CMD harddrive or a similar solution. Sorry only that I will miss the sticker...

Offline

 

#11 2006-09-01 13:09:10

tRasH cAn maN
Dan Dare
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 70
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

I remember there being a small app putting XP in a good working dos enviorment. I'll post again if I can come up with the name. I used it for some dos based tracker that wouldn't work in XP's dos shell.

Regarding bi-directional mode of the parallel port, can't this be set up in bios?

Offline

 

#12 2006-09-01 13:10:09

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

tRasH cAn maN wrote:

I remember there being a small app putting XP in a good working dos enviorment. I'll post again if I can come up with the name.

Yes please!

Offline

 

#13 2006-09-01 13:23:45

basil faulty
Dan Dare
Registered: 2006-07-19
Posts: 73

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

KONEY wrote:

basil faulty wrote:

If you don't mind spending a few pounds/dollars/euros then I can recommend the self booting CD that is available. 64HDD runs best under MS-DOS, and doesn't seem to like running in a DOS session under XP. Either set up a cheap 2nd PC as a file server - running MS-DOS only - or use the self booting disc.
You also get a rather cool 64HDD Inside! sticker.

THe point is that setting up a PC just to transfer files is a complete mess. Everytime you have to transfer a file you have to put it into the second pc which takes lot of space and electric plugs AND costs money. Maybe a virtual machine is a solution, still you get most of cpu busy just to transfer a few kbs. If I have to spend money then I prefer to buy a CMD harddrive or a similar solution. Sorry only that I will miss the sticker...

The point of the self booting CD is that you can put it into any PC running XP etc, and it will boot up and run 64HDD under 'real' DOS.

Take the disk out - back to normal PC.

Perhaps I didn't explain too well

Offline

 

#14 2006-09-01 15:22:31

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

Yes a bootable CD is something on which you can rely just in case, but to me not a complete solution...

Offline

 

#15 2006-09-01 20:52:55

wlms
Dan Dare
From: Århus, Denmark
Registered: 2006-08-22
Posts: 78

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

tRasH cAn maN wrote:

I remember there being a small app putting XP in a good working dos enviorment. I'll post again if I can come up with the name. I used it for some dos based tracker that wouldn't work in XP's dos shell.

Regarding bi-directional mode of the parallel port, can't this be set up in bios?

It sounds like a program called dos-box. It is an open source Intel x86 PC emulator.

http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php wrote:

DOSBox emulates an Intel x86 PC, complete with sound, graphics, mouse, modem, etc., necessary for running many old DOS games that simply cannot be run on modern PCs and operating systems, such as Microsoft Windows 2000, Windows XP, Linux and FreeBSD. However, it is not restricted to running only games. In theory, any DOS application should run in DOSBox, but the emphasis has been on getting DOS games to run smoothly, which means that communication, networking and printer support are still in early developement.

I hope that was what you were looking for.

dos-box.

Offline

 

#16 2006-09-02 05:52:57

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

basil faulty wrote:

If you don't mind spending a few pounds/dollars/euros then I can recommend the self booting CD that is available. 64HDD runs best under MS-DOS, and doesn't seem to like running in a DOS session under XP. Either set up a cheap 2nd PC as a file server - running MS-DOS only - or use the self booting disc.

You also get a rather cool 64HDD Inside! sticker.

http://www.64hdd.com/64hdd/64hdd-cd.html

the key here, obviousdly, is to have a FAT partition somewhere.

NTFS is incompatible with dos, as i discovered using star commander.  As soon as i got a dos boot disk working, i was screwed without a FAT or FAT32 partition.  So i careted a 1 gig partition.. 1 gig is a LOT of c64 games...

a LOT

it's my z drive!


as for dos box it is amazing, but communcation realkly is limited.. however, parallel ports might work.. i will try it..

i can run 64hdd.. i can boot to dos 6.22, but the thing is that my computer is as bulky as my 1571...
ineed a really portable storage solution, so the 1541-III is amaaaaaazing

Offline

 

#17 2006-09-04 07:41:26

tRasH cAn maN
Dan Dare
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 70
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

Dos-box, yea that's the one!
Thanks wlms!

Please let us know if this works.

Offline

 

#18 2006-09-19 00:22:12

karl stanley
GI-Joe
From: Dublin, Ireland
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 16

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

I run 64hdd in an old dell 486 laptop running MS-DOS. I have go64hdd in autoexec.bat and it works just fine. I got the laptop for free, it's got to be about 10 years old. I had a lot of trouble getting it to work with a more modern PC, I had no luck at all with my current P4 running XP. My advice to anyone doing this is get an old old old crappy machine and use it as a dedicated 64hdd server.

Karl

Offline

 

#19 2006-09-19 00:40:03

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

Well that's not a big solution. It's unconfortable, you still have to put the computer in a LAN to share files or use floppy/diskettes. Takes lot of space and powerplugs. Another mouse. ANother keyboard. It's expensive. Slow, you cant launch an emulator to eventually try something before sendin it to the C=64....

Offline

 

#20 2006-09-19 22:18:54

karl stanley
GI-Joe
From: Dublin, Ireland
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 16

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

It's not the best solution in the world, but at least with a laptop it doesn't have to be plugged in all the time. Handy for live work (haven't done any live work with it yet but am planning to soon - I wouldn't like to take my main music computer to a bar or nightclub!). I don't need a mouse or keyboard for the laptop because all I ever do with it is edit the go64hdd.bat file (which doesn't happen very often). Mostly I leave the lid of the laptop down, with it lying on its side on the floor so it doesn't take that much space. The main problem is that I have to use floppies to put files on it (no network card). Less of a big deal than you'd think - I don't change the disk images that often.

Keep posting - I think there's lots to learn from you guys!

Offline

 

#21 2006-09-19 22:28:12

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

For lives a laptop is alwyas better than a desktop computer 8)

Offline

 
  • Index
  •  » SEQUENCER
  •  » 64hdd emulator and problems with loading P64 sequencer files

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008