PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#76 2012-03-05 21:31:09

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

First, i am not going to build any SDr for you. Just don't have the time for it.

So the R2 is indeed for the contrast. Thats needed because most LCD differ a little bit from each other, so you probably got to adjust it a little bit. Its just a simple 10k potmeter.

The SD card holder and the cards use 3,3 volt. You could use this one for easy soldering:
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/544
The naming of the pins differ a bit.
SCK has to be connected to SD_CLK.
GND has to be connected to VSS.
VCC has to be connected to VDD.
Res1 and Res2 stay unconnected.
I will check which ones i used and send a link. But those are SMD, very tiny  and difficult to solder, especially for beginners.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#77 2012-03-08 12:57:28

D Vibe
The Last Ninja
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-02-03
Posts: 254
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

This is clearly interesting. I'm growing tired of using disks.. big_smile

But I think it's a bit too advanced for me to build sad . I wonder if 8bit Ventures are interested in manufacturing this device..?

Offline

 

#78 2012-03-08 13:12:09

D Vibe
The Last Ninja
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-02-03
Posts: 254
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

To answer myself, this FAQ answer will probably answer my question. Answers answers answers.. smile

-Hey, you're a business venture company and I have this idea. Are you interested?
No. We only invest in our own projects.

http://www.8bitventures.com/faq.php

Offline

 

#79 2012-03-15 02:05:13

Viler
Bloody beginner
From: Terni, Italy
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 6

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

thanks for ur reply firestarter, im gonna look forward to try assemble this thing..... it really deserves to give a shot, smells amazing smile

Offline

 

#80 2012-05-02 14:18:19

Greg.0
Dr. Commodore
From: Fr - Lorraine
Registered: 2008-02-13
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Hi firesARTer,

Maybe we could find someone here to realise a small run of PCB for this great device ?
We could then centralised the needed component at mouser like we did with the TJT sid2sid from Tomthul.

Are you OK with that ?

Offline

 

#81 2012-05-07 17:37:45

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Hi firestarter!

Iīm finished with my sdr device, or hm maybe not sad

It starts up just fine, checking the slots , etc. The buttons works fine , the encoder Save/Load Yes & No etc.

BUT..... When i choose save+yes i get "waiting" , so far so good i guess, but then the mssiah tells me to press space and the mssiahīs raster lines appears for a few seconds and i got "saving ready". The thing is that the display doesnīt show the saving graphics like in your video, i just got the word "waiting".

I`t freezes in that mode untill i resets the computer OR choose LOAD then the "saving" appears for half a second then "bit error". Itīs like the card doesnīt get any "save output" from the serialport, the Load command does however.

I guess the loading function could work but i dont have anything to load so.......wink

Have i missed something, i`ve checked the board like 10 times already connections, soldering, powersupply etc.

Could it be something with the clock? the crystal? In the scheme their are two capacitors for each leg on the crystal right?

Or could it be that iīm using an SD "ULTRA" 2gb , istead of an "regular" SD card (shouldn`t be any problem itīs practically the same card)

Any tips , iīm going slightly mad here wink smile

Iīm using a regular size sd cardholder , the soldering pins are a bit different, but i checked it, it should be fine.

Last edited by nusse (2012-05-07 17:45:13)

Offline

 

#82 2012-05-09 18:28:16

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Have someone else build this interface , and with sucess any tip would be helpful:/

Offline

 

#83 2012-06-24 11:45:39

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Oh hey nusse,

sorry for the late reply!
1st, it is not a capacity problem with the crystal, because else the software wouldn't run.
2nd the SD card shouldn't be an issue either becuase it scans for the slots so i guess it works. ( it might stop here already while scanning...) Most microSD or SD cards should work ( <= 2GB i guess since 4gb is another standard (SDHC) and i didn't test those yet)

I sent you a testfile for loading, so we can find out if parts of the SDR device work.

Thomas


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#84 2013-02-13 20:57:24

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Hello there !

I had finally tested the file you sent me firestarter, i thank you for it.

Unfortunatly it wont work neither to load or save:(

I`ve checked everything i can think of, and doublechecked with your schematics but i canīt get it to work.

As said before it work perfectly at startup , cheking all the slots and Yes/no functions etc.etc.

BUT when i tested to load your file, the x-marks appears like in your youtubeclip, but theres no raster, i get a "loading ready" on the screen but theres nothing there. And itīs still the same with the save function it says "waiting" on the LCD screen, nothing happens when i press space(the rasters do appear and i got a saving ready after just a few seconds , and some empty file with 0kb on the card:). There should be "saving" and some graphic marks like that on the youtubeclip.

Since there no respons when i press space , it seems like the device/card wont recive signals from the userport or something, iīm pretty sure itīs not a hardware problem with the c64 because iīve tested with two breadbins and one c64c , all of them works like a charm otherwise.

Has someone here build this device (except firestarter wink) and has any clue if thereīs something i should check.

Any advice is welcome smile

Last edited by nusse (2013-02-13 20:59:33)

Offline

 

#85 2013-02-13 21:11:50

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Hey nusse,

thats weird. I can only think of the connection to the userport. There could be a problem with mirroring. For example using pin 9 instead of pin 4..
I can offer you to check it myself if you send me the device.
Let me know,

cheers
Thomas firestARTer aka Frau Holle


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#86 2013-02-14 00:05:08

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Thanks for fast reply:)

Iīm gonna check out the pins.

Very nice of you if you could take the time to check it out for me, but i gonna try a little bit more first.

smile

Last edited by nusse (2013-02-14 00:08:31)

Offline

 

#87 2013-02-14 07:55:40

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Oh no, don't just swap the pins. Just double tripple quadrupple check if they are right.
Wrong placed pins can hurt your C64 or the PIC microcontroller.

Only change them if you find out that they are wrong1

cheers


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#88 2013-02-14 15:35:00

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

smile

Must been my english, i wont swap the pins without knowing what iīm doing , but thanks for the concern:)

BTW i doublechecked it yesterday and the userport seems to be correct a far as i can see.

The next step is to look for bad wiring/soldering along the lines, maybe some shorts.
Wich pins sends the signals from/to the userport when i press space in the save/load mode in the mssiah?


Thanks once again for your time firestarter!smile

Offline

 

#89 2013-02-18 13:04:05

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Hello firestarter !

I found this info here on the forum:

"The SDR (Serial Data Register) is using a built in feature of the C64's
CIA chip never used in any of its hardware peripherals nor operating
system routines. It is a simple synchronous data bit shifter that inputs
and outputs one byte at a time on the user port with two separate lines,
one for the clock and one for the data. Pins used are: PIN4 = CLK for
input PIN5 = DATA for input PIN6 = CLK for output PIN7 = DATA for output.

Is this information regarding the pins correct for your schematics?

Yesterday i tried to load your testfile, and when i pressed "Loading yes" (and the x marks started to tick) the pins 4 and 5 goes from 0 volt to something like 1.5.-1.8 volt (approx.) Do you think this is correct? The raster line dontīt appear on the screen at all just a the blue screen until i press runstop, in save mode itīs the other way around (as said before) the raster line do appear but the device locks in waiting.

In save mode i discover that if i leave the device in "waiting" mode and switch to load and press yes the "saving" and the marker appears for like a split second and then the "bit error" appears, so some kind of signal does apparently come out from the userport. This "fenomenon" also appears if i but the multimeter on PIN 1 (ground) and PIN 7 (data out).

One could suspect some mixed up line like DO v/s DI on the sd cardholder or something but i canīt really find something wrong.

I had a similar problem with the the clock/pulse signal in my sync24-64 adapter, it doesnīt worked at all. The solution the was to put a 10k resistor between ground and the clock.
Then the sync/clock worked perfectly with my Roland - 707 and mssiah/prophet 64. Maybe i should try this on the clock from the userport here as well.

One last question: Does the HI-LO settings when saving makes any difference iīve put it in HI as in your video, but i also tried to put in the lower modes as well with no sucess.

Thanks again for your help firestarter smile

Offline

 

#90 2013-03-06 22:43:59

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

So the problem is finally solved. I got nusse's SDR device and checked it out.
The problem is that the schematic is not correct. I built up my prototype first and was drawing the schematics for the release later. And then i made some things wrong which ended up in a buggy schematic!

Nusse did everyting right actually!

I will update to the working schema as soon as possible.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#91 2013-03-08 13:05:38

loderbast
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2013-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

great. me and also a friend of mine have the same problem.
looking forward to hter new schematic smile

Offline

 

#92 2013-03-09 22:41:06

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Here we are, schematic is fixed. I had to add a 74xx14 IC ( most 74xx14 IC will do it....like 74HC14, 74HCT14 etc...)
Also the 4 lines to the userport changed and the 2 resistors R8 and R9 are removed.

Sorry for the problems!!

http://www.firestarter-music.de/sdr/

cheers
Thomas firestARTer aka Frau Holle


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#93 2013-03-10 03:16:50

loderbast
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2013-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

nice thanks!

one question though:
shouldn't it be possible to invert the signals from rb6 and rb7 in the firmware?

cheers Paul

Offline

 

#94 2013-03-10 07:55:51

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Yes, thats possible. But it won't work. The PIC runs on 3,3 Volt and the C64 is very critical and uses only 5 volt logic. The 7414 is doing the job for converting 3,3 volt to 5 volt (well with the extra  that it inverts the signal, but thats done in firmware). Also with the 2 resistors in the 1st revision as a pullup to 5 volt, it doesn't work. Too critical C64 inputs.
So 7414 is the easiest solution and you can get it from really every (around the corner) electronic supplier.

Cheers
Thomas


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#95 2013-03-13 22:04:06

loderbast
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2013-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

of course... i totally forgot, the pic runs on 3.3v -  sorry.
i won't have a chance the try this untill at least sunday though.

i'll report back, when i get to build it.

Offline

 

#96 2013-03-17 23:50:18

nusse
GI-Joe
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-09-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Here is my SDR device, now it works like a charm!!!

http://www.nerdsynth.com/p64/SDR.jpg

I can recomend this device itīs a really nice gadget for the Mssiah/Prophet64 user:)

Anyone else who wants to share some picture of SDR devices? wink

Last edited by nusse (2013-03-18 00:15:53)

Offline

 

#97 2013-03-18 23:30:59

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Looks very nice full assembled!

Have fun with it!


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#98 2013-03-19 17:56:38

MadModder
Bomb Jack
Registered: 2012-11-03
Posts: 32

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Damn you... LOL!
Another thing a just have to build! Some time later :p

Offline

 

#99 2013-04-07 20:07:45

loderbast
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2013-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

finally managed to build it, too.
works like a charm now.

thanks a lot, firestarter!

Offline

 

#100 2013-04-07 20:13:20

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Photos or it didn't happen!  smile

Hoorraayyy!!  Have fun, enjoy it and spread the word!


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008