PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-29 15:11:50

Reverend Emi
GI-Joe
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 19

faulty 1541?

While waiting for something better I dug out from a flea market an old 1541-II disk drive.
I have no experience with those - I connected the c64 to the serial DIN port, and when I turn on the c64 the drive seem to be responding. The orange light turns on for a second or two, and there is some slight mechanical movement inside.
However, when I try to format a disk (a blank 500k DS\DD disk) with the MSSIAH - or from the plain c64 system, with the command

OPEN1,8,15,"N0:"NAME,ID":CLOSE 1

nothing  happens. No lights flashing on the drive, no movements.

The diagnostics I've found on various sites all describe different symptoms for hardware failure, such as strange noises, lights flashing several times, etc.
Here, simply nothing happens. What may be wrong?
Since my memories from the 80s are only about cassettes big_smile is there some kind of test routine that I could perform, just to make sure that the drive is running properly?

Thanx!!

Last edited by Reverend Emi (2009-04-29 21:32:43)

Offline

 

#2 2009-04-29 16:39:45

djjonnyjams
Zak
From: Youngstown, Ohio - USA
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 120
Website

Re: faulty 1541?

do you have a disk with a program on it? see if you can bring up the directory with load"$",8 and when it says ready type list


Am I the only guy who makes hip-hop with SID Chips?

Offline

 

#3 2009-04-29 17:11:26

Reverend Emi
GI-Joe
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 19

Re: faulty 1541?

I've just tried... apparently, it all gets stuck on "searching for" - nothing happens, the drive remains silent.

Offline

 

#4 2009-04-29 17:49:10

djjonnyjams
Zak
From: Youngstown, Ohio - USA
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 120
Website

Re: faulty 1541?

could be the serial bus controller inside the commodore......

Try the disk drive on another commodore if you have one...

I have a commodore with a fried serial chip and it works fine with mssiah and other cartridges, but I get the same sympotom when loading/saving wheter it's a disk drive, or an xe1541 cable, nothing happens....

So I have made that one my dedicated CYNTHCART machine (no need for disk operations)


Am I the only guy who makes hip-hop with SID Chips?

Offline

 

#5 2009-04-29 18:31:13

Reverend Emi
GI-Joe
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 19

Re: faulty 1541?

THAT was it! I tried with my spare, "classic" commodore and it works!!!
It's a pity that I have my sid2sid on the faulty c64... guess there's some job to be done sad
Anyway, I'm happy enough the drive isn't  broken big_smile

Thanx so much for the tip, I would never have thought about  that...  I didn't bother about cross-testing it since I read somewhere that if the UB1 (7406) and UA1 (74LS14) chips in the drive were faulty, I would have had the same problems!

Good idea the Cynthcart machine, too... cool

Last edited by Reverend Emi (2009-04-29 18:58:53)

Offline

 

#6 2009-04-29 22:49:23

djjonnyjams
Zak
From: Youngstown, Ohio - USA
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 120
Website

Re: faulty 1541?

Glad your disk drive works!!!

I've been so busy with other projects, I haven't even attempted to fix my cynthcart machine. When I figure it out (hopefully it's one of the socketed chips) I'll let you know.


Am I the only guy who makes hip-hop with SID Chips?

Offline

 

#7 2009-04-29 23:14:15

shem
Bomb Jack
From: UK
Registered: 2009-03-29
Posts: 36

Re: faulty 1541?

sounds like one of your 6526's in your commodore is died

Offline

 

#8 2009-04-30 17:59:07

Reverend Emi
GI-Joe
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 19

Re: faulty 1541?

I was wondering if I could try to repair the faulty motherboard by replacing both (or one)  6526's... but how do I get to know which one is broken? 
I've tried ( successfully) to desolder some components from the PCB board, but never tried with one of those chips - each 6526 is not socketed and has a lot of pins (40, I think),  the holes in the back look really small... is this job worth the trouble?

Last edited by Reverend Emi (2009-04-30 18:00:48)

Offline

 

#9 2009-04-30 18:59:26

djjonnyjams
Zak
From: Youngstown, Ohio - USA
Registered: 2009-03-13
Posts: 120
Website

Re: faulty 1541?

Isn't that the RAM chip? I don't think that's the problem...


Am I the only guy who makes hip-hop with SID Chips?

Offline

 

#10 2009-04-30 21:27:46

shem
Bomb Jack
From: UK
Registered: 2009-03-29
Posts: 36

Re: faulty 1541?

the ram chip has a number 4164 or 4264 and they have 16 pins and you will find 8 of these in a breadbin
the 6526 ic controls your I/O keyboard serial port and joysticks
the 1541 or the serial port is controlled by U2 6526

but since it is a 1541mkii drive we cant really rule the drive out unless you have tried another drive on the machine or your drive on another c64
the 1541ii isnt as reliable as the older 1541's on the mkii the psu tends to fail and sometimes damages the drive's logic

but if you really cant test the drive the best thing to do is to swap them 6526's around and you would get different fault your keyboard and joystick would stop to work that would eliminate the 6526


also it would help if we knew where in the world you are
also when you try to load or format can you hear the 1541 spinning??
if the drive dos not spin then you have a problem with the 1541 psu

Last edited by shem (2009-04-30 22:31:31)

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008