PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#76 2008-12-20 08:33:53

rasmussen27
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 5

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

Yay got mine today, hooked it up and it worked, midi worked etc!!!

So all the SE plug links are down now.  Are they going to be released free?

I guess I'll work on some of my own but I don't have a lot of time.  Instead of a vst I might just make a PD patch, pure data, to test stuff out.
Too bad the screen goes dark when its in midi mode, but i guess it doesn't have enough cpu time to focus on the midi and the display.
The manuals are awesome and have all the CC#'s layed out.

I'm not sure if there is a way to dump instruments into it but its probably possible, i haven't had time to fully read the manuals.
I'll post any PD stuff if I get the time to write some patches for it, if it works right.

Offline

 

#77 2008-12-20 22:16:26

FriendlyFire
Pac-Man
From: Berlin
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 205
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

@Flemming  thanks for your nice work but your links (test7.dll etc) are not working

Offline

 

#78 2008-12-26 11:48:57

Flemming
The Last Ninja
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 291

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

FriendlyFire wrote:

@Flemming  thanks for your nice work but your links (test7.dll etc) are not working

I will continue to work on these when the xmas holiday is over.. i'm hoping that the new SE beta will incorporate a new automation scheme so it will be a lot easier to do a fully working VST midi control surface smile just checked the SE site and it seems that a new beta has not come around yet.

...but half the posts in this thread is about dudes wanting to build similar solutions... howcome we don't get to see some of them?? i'd really love to see what other users come up with smile to be honest i don't care if they're butt-ugly, i go for functionality... like a VST-thing to program basslines (don't know yet if i will be able to create such a bugger myself)

Offline

 

#79 2008-12-26 16:00:49

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

I tried to load the test.dll in cubase but I cant find it in the list. It goes in the "unloadable" list...any clue?

Offline

 

#80 2008-12-26 16:02:19

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

edit: the DLL is only 1kb long, so I suppose there's a problem with the DL...

Ok, the DL is not working smile Any chance to have it fixed for a test, Flemming?

Last edited by KONEY (2008-12-26 16:03:24)

Offline

 

#81 2008-12-26 23:40:23

Flemming
The Last Ninja
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 291

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

KONEY wrote:

edit: the DLL is only 1kb long, so I suppose there's a problem with the DL...

Ok, the DL is not working smile Any chance to have it fixed for a test, Flemming?

I know, mate wink as i wrote earlier i will continue my work on these .. i have some almost fully working solutions, but they are very clumsy internally.. i hope to soon do some new ones good enough for people actually to use them in their VST host! Please be patient though... i have to get this x-mas farce over with before i can concentrate my full effort into software development.... also, i received a shitload of midibox components a few days ago, so i guess some of my sparetime will be spent soldering also smile

In the meantime i have disabled the downloads from my server... they will be available again for sure smile i really love my MSSIAH!!!!

Offline

 

#82 2008-12-26 23:46:50

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

Ah ok! Sorry I didn't mean to put hurry on you! I'm just looking forward to make myself an idea of what can be done with the Mssiah... wink

Offline

 

#83 2008-12-27 02:18:23

kneelherring
GI-Joe
Registered: 2008-07-09
Posts: 10

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

Blue cat audio has vst CC control surfaces which can be set up to control Mssiah, no way to label though just a bunch of knobs.

http://www.bluecataudio.com//Vault/Prod … ntrols.png

Offline

 

#84 2009-01-04 00:55:11

rasmussen27
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 5

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

Since Mssiah uses CCs you could just remap them

There is a really good free tool called Midi OX http://www.midiox.com/ for windows that works well.
You might need something like midi yoke or something else that allows you to have virtual midi cables.

But really you just have
program -> virtual cable -> midi ox -> output device.

I use ableton a lot and have had some problems trying to make nrpn front ends.  Ableton currently doesn't support nrpn so sometimes if you run a plugin that has it will strip it off.

I read about an app that looks really promising, it's called midi quest.  Sort of a universal patch editor/librarian but can be run as a vst, not free though.  http://www.squest.com/

I've been trying to hunt down something free that'll just take a list of nrpns or CCs let you define min and max values for them, let you label them if it is a toggle or switch then load as a vst.

I tried using Pure Data and heh..... it blue screened after doing some midi stuff for about 10 minutes so I don't think I'll be using that to make anything midi.

Offline

 

#85 2009-01-04 11:05:05

Flemming
The Last Ninja
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 291

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

rasmussen27 wrote:

Since Mssiah uses CCs you could just remap them

There is a really good free tool called Midi OX http://www.midiox.com/ for windows that works well.
You might need something like midi yoke or something else that allows you to have virtual midi cables.

But really you just have
program -> virtual cable -> midi ox -> output device.

I use ableton a lot and have had some problems trying to make nrpn front ends.  Ableton currently doesn't support nrpn so sometimes if you run a plugin that has it will strip it off.

I read about an app that looks really promising, it's called midi quest.  Sort of a universal patch editor/librarian but can be run as a vst, not free though.  http://www.squest.com/

I've been trying to hunt down something free that'll just take a list of nrpns or CCs let you define min and max values for them, let you label them if it is a toggle or switch then load as a vst.

I tried using Pure Data and heh..... it blue screened after doing some midi stuff for about 10 minutes so I don't think I'll be using that to make anything midi.

Lyder meget besværligt wink

MIDIox and stuff... why?? what are you trying to achieve ???

PureData is not good for MIDI controllers... you have to load it in a client as far as i know, so no loading into your host... Max/MSP is a better alternative, but still workarounds with stupid wrappers is the only workaround to get it into the host... VST is by far the best solution for std host work, or the native panel solution (koney allready did one for cubase http://www.prophet64-forum.com/viewtopic.php?id=1196 and Johannes allready did one for Logic http://www.prophet64-forum.com/viewtopic.php?id=1180) you could easily do one in ableton and you don't even need to control any NRPNs wink if all this is too much then consider using the above mentioned VST solution from Blue cat audio....but your problem doesn't sound MSSIAH-related. Try to ask in the ableton or puredata forums, i'm sure they can help you out there smile

Last edited by Flemming (2009-01-04 12:31:54)

Offline

 

#86 2009-01-15 08:36:28

gmnstr
GI-Joe
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 11

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

I tried to mess around with Sonic Birth on OSX, but I can't make it send CC's to MSSIAH. At least not in Ableton. Sonic Birth does not appear to be made for making MIDI effects. But I might be wrong, maybe there is a way?

Offline

 

#87 2009-01-15 16:21:22

Tristan
Pac-Man
From: Brum, UK
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 247
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

How is the SE interface coming along?


YOU are reading my unique forum signature.

Offline

 

#88 2009-01-15 16:24:41

Flemming
The Last Ninja
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 291

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

Tristan wrote:

How is the SE interface coming along?

Just fine, man smile

Bassline - http://www.prophet64-forum.com/viewtopi … 939#p10939

Waveplayer - http://www.prophet64-forum.com/viewtopic.php?id=1249
(I'm skinning the waveplayer today actually... expect update later)

Monosynth - http://www.prophet64-forum.com/viewtopi … 953#p10953

The last two (Sequencer and Drummer) is in the making too smile

Offline

 

#89 2009-01-15 19:21:25

Tristan
Pac-Man
From: Brum, UK
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 247
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

Hurry the fuck up.

big_smile


YOU are reading my unique forum signature.

Offline

 

#90 2009-03-13 01:14:28

lynxxx
Nebulus
From: the free west
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 61
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

something wicked this way comes :-)


"I went to see the person writing our operating system. He had about 4-5 Sun computers and a big cage with a rabbit in it. And he'd spent a lot of time talking to the rabbit."
- Adam Chowaniec / co-creator of the Amiga computer

Offline

 

#91 2009-04-05 16:49:57

8bit-Meta
Bomb Jack
From: Brighton, UK
Registered: 2008-10-21
Posts: 31
Website

Re: MSSIAH VST Interface

Still going with this Flemming?  Hope so!

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008