PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#26 2007-10-31 12:31:26

karl stanley
GI-Joe
From: Dublin, Ireland
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 16

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Mine arrived yesterday. For some reason the postman put it under the mat at my front door. I'm lucky I didn't step on it. I was very excited and ran into my little studio room to set it up. But somehow the video for my c64 has stopped working - I really hope it's a cable and not a fried VIC. ARGH!

Major props to firestARTer for building the interface! You ROCK!

Offline

 

#27 2007-10-31 18:33:14

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

my midi interface came today, and the same thing happened.  My video stopped working.  it wont' work with OR without the p64 interface plugged in.

that sucks...

what about this interface would be frying video?

Offline

 

#28 2007-10-31 18:50:18

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

I am not sure what causes this. But here is my guess:

You are dealing with a probably 15-20 year old C64 and power supply. It might possible that with connecting also the Interface it gave your system the last kick for dying. SID2SID+Prophet64+Midi Interface and a connected Video out (which also could take some power) might be in some setups not fine anymore.

I can guarantee i tested every Interface correctly (with C64, SID2SID, Video out & Pots) and they are working fine on delivery!

Check your C64 if the Fuse is still ok. Check if TV out is also dead. It might be your power supply, it might be your commodore.
There are actually some Interfaces around now and they work fine. So i guess it might be just old components.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#29 2007-10-31 19:14:34

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

actually, you were right.

I tested it without sid2sid, and it worked, and tested each sid, they worked, but together, no good.  So i switched PSU to one of my 20 PSU and it worked.

NOW!

i can't get it ti sync in sequencer mode!

ahaha

I see my midi interface showing a signal on my midi out
the p64 midi interface shows a red light when i start my midi program, on mode 2-8.  But on mode 1 (sequencer mode) it does not show a red light when i start my midi program..

any ideas?

Offline

 

#30 2007-10-31 19:46:29

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

okay, this is weird.  I am using Sonar, i tracked down the issue, you have to specifically go througha bunch of submenues to activate midi sync (weird).

Anyhow.. it sends start/stop data now.. but it does so CONTINUOUSLY... ifi put sequencer in sync24 mode, it plays.. nomatter what.  If i hit play in my DAW, it plays, if i hit stop in my DAW, it plays.. frustrating..

Okay, works perfectly in fruitly loops.

I notice that the keyboard sync mode for seq edition really plays notes about 3 octaves lower than they are played on the keyboard.  Middle C is LOW LOW C.  Why is that?

do i have to change settings or something to raise it up?  I am playing midi files through sequencer right now, and I have transpose things up to the 9th octave to get them to just be in mid range.

Last edited by Slorrin (2007-10-31 20:08:07)

Offline

 

#31 2007-10-31 20:12:13

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

i think if you experimet a bit further, you will get it work correctly ;-)

Don't forget to set the sequencer to external sync. Midi interface must be in the correct mode.
And if Sonar really sends start/stop, then i don't understand, why p64 doesn't react.
If it is stopped, the Midi-Interface doesn't flash anymore.
Gimme some more details please...and get on with this on another topic like 'midi-interface-questions'  :-)


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#32 2007-11-01 03:43:11

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

yeah, Sonar sends start CONSTNATLY for some reason.. i got it to work in Fruity Loops by clicking on little tab.

DONE

slam

its amazing.. the tempo control is incredible

I find that playing notes in keyboard s24II mode though to be buggy.. the instrument has to have the right triggering settings, the right ADSR settings (to avoid the dreaded ADSR bug of the sid!) but still sometimes is skips a few notes..

but its quite amazing considering this is 25 year old technology!

Offline

 

#33 2007-11-01 15:33:14

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

I don't think it's unusual that it can take 2 weeks until it arrives. It's still some shipping between countries and sometimes it stays a while on a weird place or at customs. But in the end it'll arrive, i am sure!

...except if english postman strikers just put all collected packets in the garbage can ;-)


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#34 2007-11-01 21:06:04

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Tonka wrote:

firestARTer wrote:

...except if english postman strikers just put all collected packets in the garbage can ;-)

NOT funny!!!  wink

Yeah sorry. I hope you will get it of course! Keep us updated!


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#35 2007-11-05 10:16:34

R64
Pac-Man
From: Melbourne, Oz
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 222
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Can we use this thread for lamenting that we missed the first batch and are waiting waiting waiting waiting ,in pain, for the next?

Offline

 

#36 2007-11-05 12:03:21

CitizenKaned
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 1

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Do you plan on doing another batch of this midi goodness?  If so when, I wants one I do.

Cheers,
Dan

Offline

 

#37 2007-11-05 12:09:44

ron
PROPHET64 GURU
From: berlin
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 502
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Anyone else waiting for DIY instructions, schematics,.. too?

Offline

 

#38 2007-11-05 13:45:55

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Yes..i am also waiting...........until i find time to add them ;-)


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#39 2007-11-05 14:32:59

ron
PROPHET64 GURU
From: berlin
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 502
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Haste makes waste wink

Offline

 

#40 2007-11-05 15:39:40

James B
Gianas Sister
From: Sheffield, UK
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 29
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Yes, I eagerly await the next batch too. Same goes for the P64 cartridge itself, however!!

Offline

 

#41 2007-11-06 01:44:30

Slice
GI-Joe
Registered: 2007-04-17
Posts: 12

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

ditto. I need one in my life!!!!

Offline

 

#42 2007-11-06 01:58:14

jbuonacc
Centipede
From: Rochester, NY usa
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 447

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

i'm wondering now what everyone thinks they *need* it for.

anyone?

Offline

 

#43 2007-11-06 13:03:05

James B
Gianas Sister
From: Sheffield, UK
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 29
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Was it sent on insured post?

Offline

 

#44 2007-11-06 14:00:28

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

I also didn't get anything back yet. Did you ask your neighbour or maybe the postmen if he just put it on the stairs??


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#45 2007-11-06 16:25:45

Tristan
Pac-Man
From: Brum, UK
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 247
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

My paranoia just reached extreme levels...


YOU are reading my unique forum signature.

Offline

 

#46 2007-11-06 21:19:14

commodork64
Nebulus
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 68

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Not got mine yet either if it helps.

If them lazy b**tards at the Royal Mail have chucked it under a hedge, I'll burn that sorting office to the ground!

True story - I got a 12" record through the mail a few months back. My postie was ill so a different one did his round. Nobody was in so he SNAPPED the record in two to fold the envelope so he could post it! Despite a huge DO NOT BEND warning on the front.
I suppose that's why these people are postmen and not doctors.

Offline

 

#47 2007-11-07 00:24:51

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Commodork, this is the scariest story I ever heard. Don't know if I'll manage to sleep tonight....

Poor vinyl sad

Offline

 

#48 2007-11-07 00:42:50

James B
Gianas Sister
From: Sheffield, UK
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 29
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

commodork64 wrote:

Not got mine yet either if it helps.

If them lazy b**tards at the Royal Mail have chucked it under a hedge, I'll burn that sorting office to the ground!

True story - I got a 12" record through the mail a few months back. My postie was ill so a different one did his round. Nobody was in so he SNAPPED the record in two to fold the envelope so he could post it! Despite a huge DO NOT BEND warning on the front.
I suppose that's why these people are postmen and not doctors.

I had a DJ mate... same thing happened to him. It was an order from Hard To Find Records as well XD If I were him I'd have snapped the postman!

I've ordered a SID2SID board but didn't insure it cos it would have made it cost twice as much. For the small price I'm willing to risk it. When I order my Interface or P64 cartridge though I'm definitely getting insurance!

Last edited by James B (2007-11-07 00:48:09)

Offline

 

#49 2007-11-07 19:24:27

neuroflip
Bloody beginner
From: Spain
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 2
Website

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

hi there! first post here.

i'm waiting the next batch too...

waiting for the fresh news!
good work!

Offline

 

#50 2007-11-07 21:44:36

commodork64
Nebulus
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 68

Re: MIDI INTERFACE AVAILABLE!

Mine arrived too. Phew.

The envelope did look like it had been ripped open though... bad postman!
I'd like to have seen the look on his gormeless face when he realised it wasn't a DVD or something else he could steal.
God knows what he though it was like... maybe a bomb!

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008