PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#26 2007-08-08 19:14:23

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Just to check, are the connectors on this DB9 female?  So you just use a DB9 extension cable?  DB9 Male plugginginto the interfacem DB9 female into the c64?  (where the port is DB9 male)

Offline

 

#27 2007-08-08 19:15:47

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Cables will be delivered with it. And yes, a simple sub-d 9 Cable. Male - Female


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#28 2007-08-08 21:47:33

swisstony123
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2007-06-23
Posts: 5

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

lOOKING SUPERB!!!  Sorry to ask a question that has possibly been answeredbut will the prophet synth for example be able to be triggered via saay piano roll in sonar??

Offline

 

#29 2007-08-08 22:28:23

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

oh wow, so i dont' need to buy cables!  SO AMAAZING

Offline

 

#30 2007-08-09 01:10:21

electriclifeform
Bub
From: United Kingdom (London)
Registered: 2006-08-03
Posts: 158
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

man this interface looks like a dream.. is it too early on to give estimates of when its going to be available to buy and rough cost?

www.handbakedarcade.co.uk


www.handbakedarcade.co.uk  <-- arcade :-)

Offline

 

#31 2007-08-09 17:05:55

Tonka
PROPHET64 GURU
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-08
Posts: 628
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Nudie photo of your wife, or it didn't happen! big_smile big_smile big_smile

Offline

 

#32 2007-08-09 19:55:04

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

swisstony123 wrote:

lOOKING SUPERB!!!  Sorry to ask a question that has possibly been answeredbut will the prophet synth for example be able to be triggered via saay piano roll in sonar??

I am sure it will be!


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#33 2007-08-09 21:11:50

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Tonka wrote:

Nudie photo of your wife, or it didn't happen! big_smile big_smile big_smile

Ok, ok, you caught us... it didn't happen.


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#34 2007-08-10 04:31:42

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

my guess for some reason is that this will cost 200 euros.

I dont' know why, but i just feel it will be 200 euros.

Offline

 

#35 2007-08-10 07:41:27

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Don't worry.
It'll be less than 100 and higher than 50.


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#36 2007-08-10 11:42:55

Tonka
PROPHET64 GURU
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-08
Posts: 628
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

firestARTer wrote:

Don't worry.
It'll be less than 100 and higher than 50.

WOW!  Even I can afford that!!! big_smile

Offline

 

#37 2007-08-11 01:38:13

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

i can afford 100 euroes!  tat's only 40040220 dollars now!

Offline

 

#38 2007-08-11 17:28:15

linde
Mad Max
From: Schweden
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 95
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Lookin' sweet!
I was at BFP too! Didn't know you were there sad

Offline

 

#39 2007-08-15 09:11:30

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Yesterday I finally got the hardware part of my studio fully functional, even including my SX64 with Sound Expander smile
The software however needs some attention: Sonic Foundry Acid 4.0b didn't have the features I wanted and Sony Acid 5.0 pro didn't want to boot.
So I'm going back to Cubase SX3, if it still works... the *cough* evaluation version *cough* I'm using, has some security issues wink

Oh, BTW, the interface was having some trouble with MonoSynth, but FirestARTer solved it yesterday.

He was giving me directions to remove/bypass some resistors on the board, which ended up with me having some SMD resistors hanging from by soldering iron, covered in hot solder neutral
First the damn stuff wouldn't stick to the board, but finally I manage to 'blob' some point.

In the end we bypassed 3 or 4 resistors and the Monosynth responded in full pitch range to my MIDI note flooding!
Boy, does that sound fat over a double SID with a touch of reverb! big_smile

Last edited by AxiMaxi (2007-08-15 10:35:10)


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#40 2007-08-15 09:54:50

jbuonacc
Centipede
From: Rochester, NY usa
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 447

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

man, i *can't wait* to hook this up to the Nord G2 with its seq/logic/midi/etc modules!

sorry to ask (haven't checked the manuals in a bit) - what parameters of P64 can be controlled via pots/midi CC? nothing in Sequencer?

Offline

 

#41 2007-08-15 11:42:04

ron
PROPHET64 GURU
From: berlin
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 502
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

jbuonacc wrote:

sorry to ask (haven't checked the manuals in a bit) - what parameters of P64 can be controlled via pots/midi CC? nothing in Sequencer?

No excuse!  wink

As you can see on the pic, there're two cables going from the MIDI interface to Joy 1&2 - so whatever is assigned to the 4 POT inputs will be affected by CC messages. That means in Bassline you got 3 fixed CCs (cutoff, env & decay) and one assignable. If you, for instance, assign X1 to resonance and do some CC sweeps and then re-assign X1 to tuning your CC sweep will modify that value instead. So think about the CC like a remote control for the POTs.

Since Sequencer doesn't use POTs you'll not be able to control anything there, AFAIK...

PS: and too bad that Drummer is only supporting one pot, would be nice to play CC controlled melodies with various tuning parameters...

Last edited by ron (2007-08-15 11:47:13)

Offline

 

#42 2007-08-15 22:21:11

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Iam preparing my euros!

Offline

 

#43 2007-08-15 23:28:37

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Just had a sequence running over MIDI to the MonoSynth and 3 pots going crazy... not a single glitch!
(Not that I expected any....)

I tweaked RES and FREQ, while changing waveform, pulsewidth and even major tuning respectively at the same time.


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#44 2007-08-16 04:25:34

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

what i'm waiting for are the hardcore SEQ tests....

Offline

 

#45 2007-08-16 09:35:17

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

What do you want to test with the Sequencer? There are only notes and Sync available there. The pots are useless with it, except if you want to simulate a mouse, using 2 pots :-)


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#46 2007-08-16 19:12:06

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

yes, exactly.

notes!!  I want many notes!

rapid wonderful notes!

Offline

 

#47 2007-08-17 00:01:28

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

Ok, here are two test runs.

First test: sync to MIDI
We had a setup with a Roland MC-303 and 2 Commodores running Prophet64 software.
One was playing the demo in Sequencer, the other one had Bassline running in patterns.
You hear the kick of the MC-303, the rest is pure Prophet64.

We started at approx. 20 bpm and then accelerated to 220bpm or perhaps even more: 20-220BPM sync test.

Second test: two MIDI controlled machines
We had Drummer and Bassline completely sequenced from PC.
Renoise ran the sequence, sending MIDI note and CC data to two different C64s at once.

You can listen to Drummer & Bassline sequenced from PC here.


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

#48 2007-08-17 09:47:24

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

it works.

Offline

 

#49 2007-08-19 09:05:16

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

so.. does that mean... we'll be buying these in a walmart near us shortly?

Offline

 

#50 2007-08-20 08:41:14

AxiMaxi
PROPHET64 GURU
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 548
Website

Re: Beta testing the MIDI interface

The hardware is done, but the software needs some tweaking

We discovered a little bug (pressing a key below the allowed range might lead to a pot acting up) and loading/saving over MIDI isn't fully implemented yet.
So as soon as FirestARTer found some Polish worker to redecorate his house ( wink ) he might find some time to fix it tongue

Also, we are looking for a cheap supplier of proper cables.
From all FirestARTer tried, either the plugs are too big to fit next to eachother in the joyports or they simply fall out because of bad measurements.
Or they are way too expensive... but we are on to something now.

Next, those PICs have to be programmed and the manual has to be written (slowly getting there too).
But if everything goes according to plan, you might all be giving your Christmas concert by means of the interface!

(Given the fact that you don't need your Christmas bonus to buy one in the first place big_smile )

Last edited by AxiMaxi (2007-08-20 08:42:18)


If everything is under control, you're not going fast enough.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008