PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-12 06:13:53

jbuonacc
Centipede
From: Rochester, NY usa
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 447

how does P64 silence the SID?

i just noticed that the noisy output from the SID is totally silenced when on the main P64 menu screen. the noise doesn't kick in until one of the programs opens up. how is this?

Offline

 

#2 2007-05-12 11:33:37

Tonka
PROPHET64 GURU
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-08
Posts: 628
Website

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

jbuonacc wrote:

i just noticed that the noisy output from the SID is totally silenced when on the main P64 menu screen. the noise doesn't kick in until one of the programs opens up. how is this?

Noise level is determined by what colours are on screen at the time.  Generally an all white screen will give more noise than an all black screen, for example but there are other colour schmes that seem to give less noise than others.  This is why Sequencer has the option to blank the screen when playing a song.

Last edited by Tonka (2007-05-12 11:41:29)

Offline

 

#3 2007-05-12 16:04:45

jbuonacc
Centipede
From: Rochester, NY usa
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 447

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

huh? right, i understand that. but when the main menu is up there's *no* noise at all. when 'Drummer' etc starts up the noise kicks in...

Offline

 

#4 2007-05-12 18:25:00

Tristan
Pac-Man
From: Brum, UK
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 247
Website

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

jbuonacc wrote:

huh? right, i understand that. but when the main menu is up there's *no* noise at all. when 'Drummer' etc starts up the noise kicks in...

Check your ears. wink


YOU are reading my unique forum signature.

Offline

 

#5 2007-05-12 22:21:49

tuluseabaska
Dan Dare
From: warsaw
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 77

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

well the hiss may be gone but hum is still there. how well is your signal amplified?

Offline

 

#6 2007-05-13 11:35:50

jbuonacc
Centipede
From: Rochester, NY usa
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 447

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

ahh, right. there's a bit of usual background hum (doesn't even register on the meters unless i crank it though), but it's nowhere near the mess of noise once one of the programs starts up (using an old 6581).

also, i think it's been discussed, but i've noticed several different 'types' of noise depending on certain key presses or functions used in the different programs.

Offline

 

#7 2007-05-16 13:05:11

wsr
GI-Joe
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 18

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

Lots of noise is caused by having the EXT option enabled, which is default. Not sure about the sequencer but I know it causes noise in mono and bassline.

Offline

 

#8 2007-05-16 15:14:58

Tristan
Pac-Man
From: Brum, UK
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 247
Website

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

The noise is all part of the pleasure of working with antiquated technology. Embrace the noise!


YOU are reading my unique forum signature.

Offline

 

#9 2007-05-16 17:35:11

Jaicen
Centipede
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 461

Re: how does P64 silence the SID?

If you're not using it, ground the EXT in pin, and lo, the noise disappears. Don't pretend to like the noise wink

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008