PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2006-11-04 05:16:45

EDC
Monty
From: 1990
Registered: 2006-10-29
Posts: 82
Website

Midi cart

I have Midines, and wouldn't a cartridge for the Commodore 64 that works the same way as Midines be really cool? It would be multi-timbral up to 3 parts, which would account for each osc, and you would program the SID on the tv the same way as p64. Actually, if every 8 bit cartidge-utilizing computer and video game system had something like that... that would rock.  However, Prophet 64 must be better on-stage then midi-anything. I know about M64 but isn't that really hard to come by?


Emulators Donít Count
        That's what EDC stands for, that's what I stand for.                 

www.myspace.com/aaronisarobot

Offline

 

#2 2006-11-04 06:06:27

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

my friend is making one currently for the genesis.. it will not use the genesis FM synth, however, but the old TI sound synth used for Segaaster system backwards compatibliity.

as for c64.. p64 gives you MUCH more than midiness.  In midiness, you have SO little control over the sound..

arpegios, instruments with envelopes for the amp.. you can't do that on midines.

Offline

 

#3 2006-11-04 17:31:54

EDC
Monty
From: 1990
Registered: 2006-10-29
Posts: 82
Website

Re: Midi cart

Well, You can do envelopes with Midines, But you would have to draw them on each note. I just use the midi cc for volume, and draw a downward slope for that midi cc on each note. It works very well, but if you are not careful your envelopes can get very sloppy. Yes, midines has it's limitations, but if you know what you are doing, you can do pretty much anything except portamento. A midi cart would be GREAT for the Genesis. That sounds very exciting! The sega genesis is pretty easy to find too!  Sounds very cool, and I would like to explore that chip in the Genesis. Until this year, I always thought it used samples!


Emulators Donít Count
        That's what EDC stands for, that's what I stand for.                 

www.myspace.com/aaronisarobot

Offline

 

#4 2006-11-05 18:19:17

herr_prof
Space Invader
From: Joisey City, Nou Joisey
Registered: 2006-07-11
Posts: 136
Website

Re: Midi cart

once little piggy tracker for  introduces tables, you will pretty much a lsdj stype interface for all of midines features.. its gonna be sweet

its too bad the genesis midi cart only supports psg... ill just have to use my trusty tx81z for chunky four op sweetness

Offline

 

#5 2006-11-07 21:16:08

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

EDC wrote:

Well, You can do envelopes with Midines, But you would have to draw them on each note. I just use the midi cc for volume, and draw a downward slope for that midi cc on each note. It works very well, but if you are not careful your envelopes can get very sloppy. Yes, midines has it's limitations, but if you know what you are doing, you can do pretty much anything except portamento. A midi cart would be GREAT for the Genesis. That sounds very exciting! The sega genesis is pretty easy to find too!  Sounds very cool, and I would like to explore that chip in the Genesis. Until this year, I always thought it used samples!

That takes too much time though...

i have add... drawing midi CC slopes.. aaaaaaaaaaaaa

Offline

 

#6 2006-11-07 22:12:08

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

What i need nis a VST that applies CC changes for envelopes automatically

so i can just draw the notes, and the envoples are added by the VST..

anything like that exist?

Offline

 

#7 2006-11-08 01:05:21

EDC
Monty
From: 1990
Registered: 2006-10-29
Posts: 82
Website

Re: Midi cart

Slorrin wrote:

i have add... drawing midi CC slopes.. aaaaaaaaaaaaa

Try this... Make one envelope slope on only one 16th note. Then cut the part so it's just only the one 16th note with the controller slope you put in. Repeat that seven times and glue it together and you have one whole bar with the exact same envelope repeating in 16th notes.

I also have add. I was diagnosed in the third grade. smile


Emulators Donít Count
        That's what EDC stands for, that's what I stand for.                 

www.myspace.com/aaronisarobot

Offline

 

#8 2006-11-08 01:13:32

EDC
Monty
From: 1990
Registered: 2006-10-29
Posts: 82
Website

Re: Midi cart

VST controller? If you use Cubase, try this...

http://www.analogindustries.com/blog/en … 0979496615

I could not get this to work in Cubase for some reason. But then again, I can't really get any VST things to work there either because I can't figure it out but I don't care. I don't use VST stuff much anyways.


Emulators Donít Count
        That's what EDC stands for, that's what I stand for.                 

www.myspace.com/aaronisarobot

Offline

 

#9 2006-11-08 18:50:28

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

i don't use CUBASE, but ihave sonar, which is a good VST thing.. and also fruity loops for simplicity.

how can you not use VSTs?

what do you use?  RTAS?

Offline

 

#10 2006-11-08 18:52:56

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

also, this link is for the midines VST controller

what i need is a VST that creates volume envelopes.  The midines VST controller only controls the duty cycle of the pulse channels, the volume of each channel, the bank select for the sample channel, and the various CC oddities added into the midines, like distorition and looping and sloping and whatever.

I just need a VST for volume envelopes...

Offline

 

#11 2006-11-08 20:14:23

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: Midi cart

Slorrin wrote:

I just need a VST for volume envelopes...

Have you tried by building your own one with reaktor or something similar?

Offline

 

#12 2006-11-09 02:16:09

EDC
Monty
From: 1990
Registered: 2006-10-29
Posts: 82
Website

Re: Midi cart

Slorrin wrote:

i don't use CUBASE, but ihave sonar, which is a good VST thing.. and also fruity loops for simplicity.

how can you not use VSTs?

what do you use?  RTAS?

Regarding VSTs... I can't figure out how to make them work in my sequencer. Either they don't work at all because I cannot figure out what folder to drop them in, or only half of it works. I don't really use them anyways because I have too much real gear to replace them with a vst. What is RTAS?


Emulators Donít Count
        That's what EDC stands for, that's what I stand for.                 

www.myspace.com/aaronisarobot

Offline

 

#13 2006-11-09 02:28:54

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: Midi cart

Plugins and outboard gear are two different worlds. One doesn't exclude the other.

RTAS (Real Time Audio Suite) is a technology to build plugins (like VST or DX) and I think is used by Protools environment (?)

Offline

 

#14 2006-11-09 02:38:47

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

VST's are easy once you get the knack.

Most VST hosts use c:\program files\VST something something

you can check in your program's setup.

Then, you have your program "refresh" or "renew" the list of VSTs available

some VSTs are effects, they are filters or eqs or distortions or bit crushers, that apply their effect to the sound of a sequence AFTER it makes audio.

Some are instruments, VSTi is their short form *i for instrumnt.

that Syntendo is a VSTi.

What sequencer do you use?

if you "Add a channel" or "Add a track" and select "midi track" (in some sequencers) or "Virtual Instrument" or "VSTi" depending on your software, you then select from a list of availble VSTis.

or you can add a soft synth to the sequencer, then assign the output of a midi track to that VST, then the output of that VST to your audio out...

... i guess that sounds complex.. but it's pretty straightforward.  It took me 2 or 3 weeks to really get how it all worked, jsut farting around with it all.

RTAS is the protool standard.. Protools, for some reason, uses it's own standard, which is totally retarded of them....

they have RTAS wrappers to use VSTs in protools, but they work poorly.. or at least, for me they did.

I hate protools....

Offline

 

#15 2006-11-09 02:39:54

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

Oh, the thing about VSTis is that you can get ZILLIONS of them for free.

You can only buy one or two synthesizers.... for thousands of dollars.. in real life.. you know?

i'd rather have a real Microkorg and LittlePhatty and Minimoog and Poly6.... but.. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ = 0!

Offline

 

#16 2006-11-09 13:33:30

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: Midi cart

Slorrin wrote:

Oh, the thing about VSTis is that you can get ZILLIONS of them for free.
You can only buy one or two synthesizers.... for thousands of dollars.. in real life.. you know?
i'd rather have a real Microkorg and LittlePhatty and Minimoog and Poly6.... but.. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ = 0!

WHen I buy a piece of gear I put so much care into spending well the money that I always come over something completely satisfactory, (most time vintage) , that I can later eventually re-sell to nuy something else.

Offline

 

#17 2006-11-09 18:14:13

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

BUt if you have no money to buy any gear at all, then you'll agree VSTs have their advantage.

Offline

 

#18 2006-11-09 18:48:25

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: Midi cart

It's like watching an EDU about a country or go there. If you have no money to travel watching EDUs has a great advantage...

Offline

 

#19 2006-11-09 18:50:54

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

exactly.

Offline

 

#20 2006-11-10 01:18:42

EDC
Monty
From: 1990
Registered: 2006-10-29
Posts: 82
Website

Re: Midi cart

Yeah. Money can be a very big problem concerning gear!


Emulators Donít Count
        That's what EDC stands for, that's what I stand for.                 

www.myspace.com/aaronisarobot

Offline

 

#21 2006-11-13 13:14:13

tuluseabaska
Dan Dare
From: warsaw
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 77

Re: Midi cart

there is a little plugin in flstudio called envelope controller. It's not a vst but it's very nice.

Offline

 

#22 2006-11-13 22:13:18

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

plugin?  what kidn of plugin?  where can i get it?

Offline

 

#23 2006-11-29 02:42:34

herr_prof
Space Invader
From: Joisey City, Nou Joisey
Registered: 2006-07-11
Posts: 136
Website

Re: Midi cart

http://mp3death.us/lgpt/doku.php?id=lgp … e_requests

They added tables! If you have ever used LSDJ, its now a synch to automate cc data, and use the individual tables as patch memory for midines sound design...


mucho fun!

Offline

 

#24 2006-12-11 14:16:51

tuluseabaska
Dan Dare
From: warsaw
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 77

Re: Midi cart

Slorrin: the native FL plugin called fruity envelope controller, which is capable of creating and assigning envelopes, if you combine it with fruity midi out plug then you will be able to assign those envelopes to midi events. it is available since 6.0.0v if i remember correctly.
http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/6745/envc01rc2.jpg

Last edited by tuluseabaska (2006-12-11 14:18:16)

Offline

 

#25 2006-12-12 07:40:17

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Midi cart

tuluseabaska wrote:

Slorrin: the native FL plugin called fruity envelope controller, which is capable of creating and assigning envelopes, if you combine it with fruity midi out plug then you will be able to assign those envelopes to midi events. it is available since 6.0.0v if i remember correctly.
http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/6745/envc01rc2.jpg

That's fantastic, considering that FL studio has an FL template specifically FOR the midines.. one that works tremendously well.. the only down side is that FL's midi out accuracy is very very low compared to cubase, sonar, or logic.. you get sloppy note triggers... sad


but envelopes make up for it..

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008