PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2006-09-27 18:39:42

motorollin
Guest

Cocolino mouse adapter?

I've got a cocolino mouse adapter which I use with my Amiga, with a PS/2 mouse attached. Any ideas if this will work with Prophet64? My C64 hasn't arrived yet so I can't try it, and I don't want to damage the port by just trying it out!

 

#2 2006-09-27 19:03:40

KONEY
PROPHET64 GURU
From: VENICE - ITALY
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 1062
Website

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

I think that if it worked on Amiga it should at least not damage the commodore 64.

BTW never heard of that adapter, funny name...

Offline

 

#3 2006-09-27 19:39:48

FriendlyFire
Pac-Man
From: Berlin
Registered: 2006-07-10
Posts: 205
Website

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

KONEY wrote:

I think that if it worked on Amiga it should at least not damage the commodore 64.

BTW never heard of that adapter, funny name...

i think you can try it, because it worked with an amiga. think you have to use it with the prophet64 amiga-mouse-mode...

Offline

 

#4 2006-09-28 18:28:19

motorollin
Guest

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

It turns the PS/2 mouse in to a standard Amiga mouse. It works natively on the Amiga without any need for drivers or patches. So if a normal Amiga mouse will work with Prophet64, then the Cocolino will work too. If anyone is interested in the Cocolino, you can find it on www.amigakit.com.

 

#5 2006-10-07 04:33:53

RZ4
Zak
From: Toronto
Registered: 2006-09-16
Posts: 123

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

Have you received your C64? I guess the next question would be: Did you try the Cocolino mouse adapter with P64?

I was gonna order the Cocolino mouse adapter but I thought I'd wait 'til you receive your C64 wink


- RZ4

Offline

 

#6 2006-10-10 15:49:43

motorollin
Guest

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

Hi mate

I already had my C64, but nothing that used the mouse :-) My Prophet64 arrived while I was away and I had my first chance to play with it today :-D

I started the sequencer with the joystick plugged in, then went to the menu and chose Amiga Mouse, then swapped the joystick for the Cocolino with a PS/2 mouse connected (actually it's a USB mouse with a USB->PS/2 adapter, and this combination works on my Amiga). Unfortunately as soon as I plugged the mouse in, the pointer just started wobbling around on the screen and was uncontrollable. It was just like what happens if you plug an Amiga/Atari mouse in to an Amiga with the switch set to Atari. I did try the sequencer in Atari mouse mode, but the same thing happened.

Oh well, time to start looking for a 1531 :-)

 

#7 2006-10-10 20:15:52

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

that's because you took out a joystick and put in a mouse.

I tried that , you can't do that.

Start it with the mouse already attached

then use the CONTROL key, and the cursor keys to get to the menu and select amiga mouse.

Try it that way, it may work.  WHen i first got my mouse, i couldn't figure out for the LONGEST time how to get it to work, so i used a joystick.  Took me a while to find a post on the old yahoo listserve that said you had to start with it pl;ugged in and use the control keys to get to the menu.

Offline

 

#8 2006-10-11 10:52:35

motorollin
Guest

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

Thanks for the tip Slorrin. I tried what you suggested, but the pointer was still uncontrollable. I may try with a PS/2 mouse connected directly to the cocolino rather than a USB one with a PS/2 adapter, though I'm not hopeful. I don't see why it doesn't work when it works perfectly on an Amiga.

 

#9 2006-10-12 01:42:26

RZ4
Zak
From: Toronto
Registered: 2006-09-16
Posts: 123

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

Yeah you should definitely try it with a PS/2 mouse...

"USB->PS/2 adapter->Cocolino adapter" seems a bit too complicated!


- RZ4

Offline

 

#10 2006-10-12 04:32:54

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

maybe cocolino is nothing more than a pack of lies.

maybe we should burn their castle to the ground and disband their standing army?

Offline

 

#11 2006-10-12 04:51:56

RZ4
Zak
From: Toronto
Registered: 2006-09-16
Posts: 123

Re: Cocolino mouse adapter?

Yeah, let's _do_ that!


- RZ4

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008