Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-12-16 20:25:40

masterblaster
Gianas Sister

hi everybody!

hello C64 users ,
im recently new to all this , recently purchased a C64 (i never had one as a kid) so i'm really a noob (prob this word didn't even exist back in the C64 days :p) at this .
i just found out about the awesome MSSIAH just ordered it and can't wait to start exploring this stuff!
i've been reading about how to save a project but it confuses me a bit , how exactly does it work , can you save files onto the cartridge or do you guys save on the tapes...?
whats the best way you guys recommend to also record the music coming from the C64 , do i need to get an audio cable for the 64 or is everything coming off the TV?
thanks everybody smile

#2 2011-12-17 02:04:27

CassandraX
Gianas Sister

Re: hi everybody!

You can save on tape via datasette in the "small" programms, that means, except in sequencer and wave-player. For this limitating reason, and also generally, i recommend a floppy drive (1541, 1581, SD2IEC) or a link cable to pc + software (see: 64HDD, 1541EMU). Perhaps an 1541 is cheaper or needs less prearrangements as pc linking. There's no way to save your projects on the mssiah cartridge.

Of course, the sound is supported by the tv cable (remember the difference to the monitor cable). BUT: (i) It doesn't provide a second SID, if you want to use a SID2SID. Monitor cable the same. (ii) You can't connect audio equipment (directly). (iii) Loss of audio quality. - IMO, for one SID a good isolated and preferably short cable for the video out port is sufficient for recording and monitoring linkage. (Probably you need an extension cable: cinch female.) But I use a self build in connector for my own, cause of the second SID. THEN you can use an "audio cable". (?)

Enjoy!

#3 2011-12-17 02:21:03

CassandraX
Gianas Sister