PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-12 14:33:15

rokus666
Bomb Jack
From: NYC
Registered: 2009-11-21
Posts: 34
Website

SID 2 flaking out playing wrong notes ???

On Mssiah audio sound test, SID 2 is playing wrong notes on the channels and sometimes one of the note mutes. Anyone know what could be an issue ?

Offline

 

#2 2010-02-14 20:19:42

rokus666
Bomb Jack
From: NYC
Registered: 2009-11-21
Posts: 34
Website

Re: SID 2 flaking out playing wrong notes ???

I figured it out, just replaced bad SID and it worked...

Offline

 

#3 2011-01-01 23:29:02

DjFluorescent
Space Invader
From: Texas,USA
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 136

Re: SID 2 flaking out playing wrong notes ???

I am also having this problem... sid1 is perfect, but for some reason now my sid2 will not play correct pitch like it used to......

I think I might have just broke it when I accedentally wired my sid1 input ground wire wrong causing the sid1+2 output to go directly to ground (silly me). But I don't understand why only sid2 was affected. Is it because there isn't enough protective cicuitry on the sid2sid board as there is on the motherboard?

I should be getting some more SIDs in the mail soon, so I will know whether it is a bad sid soon enough. I hope that it was only a falty sid (may the silicon god rest its soul), and not anything on the board like the CIA breaking down.

Which makes me wonder something a bit off topic..... Does MSSIAH use raster interrupt or CIA interrupt?
I may sound like I know what these things are by even bringing them up, but I know nothing about either. I just know they are SID related and responsible for IRQ timing.



EDIT:  Ya I just had a falty SID... Everything is fine and dandy again...

Last edited by DjFluorescent (2011-01-05 22:49:03)


**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM  38911 BASIC BYTES FREE.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008