PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-12 15:37:45

pamplemousse_mk2
Gianas Sister
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 28

Which cassette to use?

Hello,

I have retrieved a cassette drive for my C64 in one box of my home, and it works. I read in the manual (yes, there is also the manual!) that it is not advised to use cassettes longer than 30 minutes because they could wear out the drive faster, and also chome cassettes could make the drive head dirty.

Should I care about these recommendations or can I use all my old music tapes?

Thanks.

Offline

 

#2 2009-04-12 20:49:36

Tonka
PROPHET64 GURU
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-08
Posts: 628
Website

Re: Which cassette to use?

Don't use chrome - they record at quieter levels so read errors are more likely (and they are more fussy about storage/temperature/etc).  Use a bog standard ferric tape.

D60's should be fine.  I only ever heard that 90's are potentially easier to stretch/snap, not that they would wear out your drive.  Get 30's if you can, but 60's should be fine.  Get new though as old ones may be gunged or damaged anyway.


Jaicen said he'd modify my 1351 mice and now he won't return them or even answer my emails.  True story...  sad

Offline

 

#3 2009-04-13 00:49:18

pamplemousse_mk2
Gianas Sister
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 28

Re: Which cassette to use?

Hello thanks,

30's seems to be difficult to find today. I have never used cassette for data. If I want to store several files (I mean several MSSIAH save files), i think I can use the same tape but I must look at the numeric counter and note the number for each file somewhere, like for old music tapes, right? In the past, I used to use disks (3.5", 5.25", and also CPC 3"!).

Offline

 

#4 2009-04-13 20:59:00

Tonka
PROPHET64 GURU
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-08
Posts: 628
Website

Re: Which cassette to use?

Yeah that's right.  I remember havin to write all of the tape counter info down on compilations games tapes to save loading a bunch of other games before the one I actually wanted to play!

You do know that you can't save Sequencer files via tape though, right?  You need a disk drive, C64TPC, 1541U or SDR saver for that.

Last edited by Tonka (2009-04-13 20:59:34)


Jaicen said he'd modify my 1351 mice and now he won't return them or even answer my emails.  True story...  sad

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008