PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum




Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.



You are not logged in.

#26 2009-04-07 10:50:00

Tonka
PROPHET64 GURU
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-08
Posts: 628
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

firestARTer wrote:

Ah yes, forgot to mention, you can load and save via the TV port on a VHS Video Cassette! smile

Not Betamax compatible?  Your pathetic invention is USELESS to me...

I will now sell my MSSIAH on Ebay (for x10 it's original price) because I NEED Betamax saving functionality.  I CANNOT make C64 music ANY other way!  This whole forum sucks and 8BV are a bunch of charlatans!  *sulks*  big_smile

@ pamplemousse_mk2:  Yes, it is real.  smile


Jaicen said he'd modify my 1351 mice and now he won't return them or even answer my emails.  True story...  sad

Offline

 

#27 2009-04-07 11:07:04

ron
PROPHET64 GURU
From: berlin
Registered: 2006-07-08
Posts: 502
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

How about U-MATIC? I need that save feature 'cause I don't wanna hook up the ridiculously tiny 1541 any more big_smile

Offline

 

#28 2009-04-07 21:48:45

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

No joke. I am really busy with it, unfournately due to 100% business at my work i couldn't find time to show you the first examples.
I will post it asap!


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#29 2009-04-11 22:46:03

monster
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2009-02-25
Posts: 7

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

this looks wicked


lawl

Offline

 

#30 2009-04-12 12:17:38

tenfold
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 6

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Awesome.  I've been really getting into my C64 since I got a mouse a few weeks ago and my disk drive is the biggest pain.  I'm looking forward to this.

Offline

 

#31 2009-04-13 17:57:35

TechCF
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2009-04-10
Posts: 5

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

I guess the 1541 Ultimate will do the trick in stand-alone mode. Haven't tried it for compability with MSSIAH, but it is a great device. Although a bit clumsy as it does not yet have a casing.

Offline

 

#32 2009-04-13 21:03:31

Tonka
PROPHET64 GURU
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-08
Posts: 628
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

1541U does work with MSSIAH, but I found it a real arse around and dumped it as soon as I got the C64TPC.  You have to mount D64 images 'blind' (i.e., pressing a button a bunch of times to get into the correct directory) which often ended in frustration. 

Also, the lack of casing really scared the crap out of me whenever I used it (because of its price mainly )- not that I expect this device to have casing but I'm guessing it'll be cheaper and less faffing about. smile


Jaicen said he'd modify my 1351 mice and now he won't return them or even answer my emails.  True story...  sad

Offline

 

#33 2009-04-15 04:48:12

Awol
Nebulus
From: Miami/Brooklyn
Registered: 2008-11-24
Posts: 61
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Any more news on this, especially concerning price?
I'm thinking about either returning or selling my C64TPC since I can't get it to work with my laptop through USB/serial adapters. I'm thinking about trying a PCMCIA/serial card, but I don't know for sure if it would work anyway. If I do get rid of my C64TPC, and get this new SDR device for MSSIAH, I guess I'd have to rely on floppies for other programs. hmm

Offline

 

#34 2009-04-18 13:27:37

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

No more info at the moment, couldn't work on it for a few days and now getting into some weird compiler difficulties. I will update news as soon as i can. Sorry for that....


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#35 2009-04-21 22:06:27

Slorrin
PROPHET64 GURU
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 871

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

when do i get to buy the first one and beta test it and brag to everyonei was first?

Offline

 

#36 2009-06-14 04:49:15

Awol
Nebulus
From: Miami/Brooklyn
Registered: 2008-11-24
Posts: 61
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Any updates? smile

Offline

 

#37 2009-09-22 10:00:45

Greg.0
Dr. Commodore
From: Fr - Lorraine
Registered: 2008-02-13
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Hey, What's up firestARTer ? smile

Offline

 

#38 2009-09-24 21:06:29

firestARTer
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 579
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

baby's coming soon....


firestARTer - Gameboy - C64 - Atari Music
Hardware developing for your favourite homecomputer musicsoftwares
http://www.sidsyn.com
http://www.myspace.com/firestartermusic

Offline

 

#39 2009-09-29 16:22:16

Greg.0
Dr. Commodore
From: Fr - Lorraine
Registered: 2008-02-13
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

WHOUAOU !

That's a great news ! Congratulation sincerely !

Offline

 

#40 2009-11-23 16:11:16

TTTOY
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2009-11-23
Posts: 1

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

I also would be very interested ..
Best
TTT

Last edited by TTTOY (2009-11-23 16:11:40)

Offline

 

#41 2010-01-15 15:21:07

electriclifeform
Bub
From: United Kingdom (London)
Registered: 2006-08-03
Posts: 158
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

any update on this firestarter? even if its not ready do you have any idea on the expected retail price?

thanks so much!


www.handbakedarcade.co.uk  <-- arcade :-)

Offline

 

#42 2010-03-23 17:30:00

zorkiii
GI-Joe
Registered: 2009-11-20
Posts: 19

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

i'll buy two of them! ( i had written ten before, maybe not ten smile )

Last edited by zorkiii (2010-03-25 22:39:47)

Offline

 

#43 2010-04-01 22:23:24

Greg.0
Dr. Commodore
From: Fr - Lorraine
Registered: 2008-02-13
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

hum hum,

Can I suggest you a name for this new device ? "Nemo" wink

I watched the forum all day... traditions are being lost big_smile

Offline

 

#44 2010-04-25 10:13:29

Kenzya
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2010-04-25
Posts: 4

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Haha.. Still can't wait.

Offline

 

#45 2011-03-08 02:33:06

philtron
GI-Joe
Registered: 2011-03-01
Posts: 12

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

so any chance for this sdr device nowadays?

gr phil

Offline

 

#46 2011-03-08 07:41:03

totex
Bloody beginner
Registered: 2009-01-14
Posts: 8

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

Firestarter we are still waiting for your load/save sdr device.

Offline

 

#47 2011-03-14 12:01:22

neal beard
Nibbler
From: Portsmouth
Registered: 2010-10-19
Posts: 43
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

yes any new developments?!!!

:-)

Offline

 

#48 2011-03-14 12:05:20

electriclifeform
Bub
From: United Kingdom (London)
Registered: 2006-08-03
Posts: 158
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

as much as i know this product from firestarter will be very good indeed, rather than pestering him i'd recommend getting the sd2iec like i have, easy to fit, works like a dream... at least it solves all your problems for now..


www.handbakedarcade.co.uk  <-- arcade :-)

Offline

 

#49 2011-03-21 19:56:26

neal beard
Nibbler
From: Portsmouth
Registered: 2010-10-19
Posts: 43
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

electriclifeform wrote:

as much as i know this product from firestarter will be very good indeed, rather than pestering him i'd recommend getting the sd2iec like i have, easy to fit, works like a dream... at least it solves all your problems for now..

cheers for info - looks good

can anyone point me in the direction of an instructions/how to set it up for c64?

Offline

 

#50 2011-03-21 20:58:46

electriclifeform
Bub
From: United Kingdom (London)
Registered: 2006-08-03
Posts: 158
Website

Re: Announcement: New SDR Load/Save device

as far as i remember instructions are on the official sd2iec website. case of soldering 3 or 4 wires as far as i remember. unfortunately im not up for opening up my c64 as it works at the moment! but yeah deffinately look into to it. so nice to be able to save and load from sd...


www.handbakedarcade.co.uk  <-- arcade :-)

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by
© Copyright 2002–2008