PROPHET64 & MSSIAH Userforum

Official information and support forum for
MSSIAH and all PROPHET64 versions.

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-01 00:57:42

gmnstr
GI-Joe

I'm going to be the first to say it

By now quite a few people would have received their cartridges, tried them out, and come to the same conclusion as I.

This device is marvellous, but it's almost useless by itself. I would say that it is obvious, judging from the design of it, that the MSSIAH was made with the thought that the community would design some kind of frontend for it in mind. Because, let's face it, it doesn't really do much good without it. As far as I'm concerned it doesn't have to be a VST wrapper, standalone with possibility to save would do. But we need something.

I am not a coder, I don't know how to do it. I might know people who would consider writing this kind of application, I'm not sure. I can't contribute with much other than testing the code on my setup (OSX!).

Let's people lots of people feel this way to, especially someone with coding abilities. With a frontend, MSSIAH would really kick some serious ass.

If anyone out there agrees or disagrees, reply! Let's discuss this!

#2 2008-12-01 02:51:42

kneelherring
GI-Joe

Re: I'm going to be the first to say it

I wouldn't say almost useless, yes it requires more than the bog standard to get the most from it, but that is the same as any knobless sound module. With just a midi sequencer/DAW pretty much everything is easy, cc's can be adjusted and automated, tracks can be layered...

I imagine that there could be ways to improve the experience using external software/control, but its certainly not essential in my opinion.

Hope you get what you need though!

#3 2008-12-01 08:02:35

MikeTorino

Ok.. gmnstr.. you want debate, here's your debate!! *hums the title song of "Rocky"*  smile